Good Questions!

The other day I sat on the couch reading, ‘Will, God’s Mighty Warrior’ to our two youngest children. The book ended with these verses…

Ephesians 6: 10Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.

11Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.

Immediately, you could see fear on Kate’s face as she contemplated standing up against the devil. We tried to assure her that God was with her and that He is strong and mighty. This launched her into a series of questions that amazed us. I would have been impressed with most adults having these kind of insights, and here was a five year old processing deep theological truths, of course at her own level.

So here is a little of how the conversation went…

Holly and I tried to explain how God is our Father and loves us and wants the best for us…

Kate: ‘So, do I have 2 daddies?’

Us: (laughing) ‘No, God is our heavenly Father.’

Kate: ‘Well, if God is our Father, is Jesus our mother?’

Us: (laughing more) ‘No, God is three-in-one, Father, Son and Holy Spirit!’ (try explaining that one to your children)

later on we tried to explain how God speaks to us…

Kate: ‘How can I hear God, I have never heard is voice?’

Us: ‘God speaks to us through the Bible.’

Kate: ‘So the Bible answers every single question we will ever have?’

Us: ‘Well…no…but God gives us wisdom to make right choices.’

I was amazed and challenged by the simplicity, yet depth of the questions raised. Most of all, I loved the honest exploration into faith, the curiosity of one who just wanted to know and experience this ‘Father in Heaven’. Too many times we miss the wonder of searching for God, in our attempts to get through the day we forget to ‘think’ deeply. We all, no doubt, have questions, even good questions, but our thirst for answers is too easily quenched.

I pray that God would place in me a holy hunger for Him alone. I pray that God would be seen as One who is both near & far; majestic & intimate.  May our souls thirst for truth and not be satisfied until we find Him. Our good questions lead us to a GREAT God!

Proverbs 2:1 My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, 2 turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding, 3 and if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, 4 and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, 5 then you will understand the fear of the LORD and find the knowledge of God.

3 thoughts on “Good Questions!

  1. Sounds like the Lord did some prep work in little Kate’s heart. He never ceases to amaze me.
    Pray on, McRaes!

  2. Praying in Huntsville, AL for your daughter. I saw your Youtube video. In September my son was born with a grade 4 (worst kind) brain bleed and they didn’t think he would ever be able to even smile. On Father’s day he said DaDa and started crawling this week. – I will fight for Kate.

    Tish Pouliot
    A sister you have never met.

  3. I stumbled upon your story through a friends blog and wanted you to know that we are praying here in California for your family and sweet Kate. I am encouraged by your faith and trust in our Heavenly Father! God was working on Kate before all of this surfaced and He is continuing to work in and through her and the rest of your family.

    God is in complete control. I hope you are able to find rest and peace in Him.

    -Beth Brady

Leave a Reply

