Faith & Prayer

daddy & kate

One of my favorite stories of Scripture is of the Roman captain who came to Jesus on behalf of his sick servant in Matthew 8. I love the reality that Jesus seems willing and even eager to heal this servant simply saying, “I will go and heal him.” I believe Jesus is God, He is Lord, and He is the Healer. This was absolutely true of Jesus a couple of thousand years ago and it is still true today.

For me the story becomes even more intriguing when Jesus, astounded & amazed, declares that He has never found such faith in any other person. This despised Roman soldier astonished Jesus, that’s so incredible to me.

Reflecting on this story makes me ask a ton of questions: questions like does Jesus still heal when we ask Him? does Jesus desire to heal our Katie-bear? do I have the kind of faith to ‘amaze’ Jesus? if not, why not?

I do believe Jesus still heals and that He is more than able to heal Kate! I am not sure where my faith is at the moment (somewhere on the roller coaster between pathetic and persevering, it just depends). However, I am overwhelmed by the faith and outpouring of prayer that Kate has received from people all over this world. I personally am amazed at the faith of all you prayer warriors, and I sort of believe that Jesus Himself is astonished as well.

I say all of this to say thank you one more time. Thanks to all of you who are remaining strong, even when we feel weak; thank you to all of you who are believing the God of the impossible; thank you for trusting that an AMAZING GOD can still do amazing things. More than anything I want to say thank you gracious God for Your abounding faithfulness, thank you Heavenly Father for Your unending love, thank you Lord Jesus for Your beautiful interceding Church!

29 thoughts on “Faith & Prayer

  1. Great post Aaron. May God use the experiences of Kate’s illness to greatly strengthen your faith and ministry, first within your family, and then to the world. We continue to pray for Kate, Holly & you, along with Olivia & Will. Great to hear how God is working!

  2. I’m praying here in SC for precious Katie. I can’t imagine! But I CAN imagine our Savior, the Great Healer, reaching out to make her whole once again. We serve a mighty God! I pray you feel his comforting arms around you tonight.

  3. My prayers are with you and your beautiful little girl. I’ve been through a similar journey with my daughter Katie and know just how difficult it is to see your child suffer. I wish I could do A LOT more!

  4. i have been so encouraged this week by you & your families willingness to be honest & open with the world as you go through something so incredibly difficult. i heard louie giglio once say that situations like this hold up a megaphone to your heart. what an encouragement to hear loudly from this “megaphone” given to your family a faith in Jesus who heals & sustains & gives life. im praying for you guys!

  5. Aaron, I think all us have questioned our faith during this dark journey for Kate. I know I have. But, through it all, I am finding a hope that I’ve not known in a very long time. And that hope comes from the outpouring of God’s heart through the love and care of His people! God is still in control and still hears the cries of His children! 2Ch 7:14 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.” His word could never be more true! And not only heal our land, but heal your precious Kate! I’m still believing for a miracle and constantly praying. ~ Love to you all, Vickie White

  6. Your daughter is perfectly beautiful and I will pray for her and your family’s strength to get through this. God is absolutely amazing and he does indeed heal if you hold him in your heart. My best friend is battling a brain tumor as well and if she didn’t have the power of God protecting her and watching over her, she would not be as strong as she has been. Keep your faith strong and know that the big man upstairs has a reason for everything… some things we will never understand the reasoning for, but he knows. It all plays a part in his giant plan for each of us. And if at times you feel as if your strength is diminishing, remember this. As an amazing woman, Patsy Clairmont from The Women of Faith, whom is a huge inspiration to me has reminded me, “Christ said He is perfected in weakness… when we are weak, He is strong in us.” She is absolutely right and I hold that dear to my heart. Be strong and continue to pray. I will add little Katie and your family to my church prayer list. Take care and God bless. =)

  7. Aaron,
    Paula and I are amazed at the way you and Holly are sharing your hearts. We are crying with you,praying with you and holding on to hope with you.
    We wake up praying for Kate, and fall asleep praying for your whole family. And with you we marvel at the way Cstone, believers everywhere and even Dr Phil are standing with you.
    The church around the world has fallen in love with and adopted Kate.
    We are with you my brother, we are all with you.

  8. Hey Aaron,

    I can remember pushing you through your parents house a many a night when you were about Kate’s age…..

    It seems like yesterday….

    I’m sure it seems like yesterday to you that Kate was born….

    This too will seem like yesterday soon enough!

    Your house is built on The Rock Aaron, so it is strong. Sure, storms will come, but they will not shake you from that foundation!

    I had a friend of mine tell me that one of her favorite passages of scripture was “And it came to pass….” and this during a time of great trial for her and her family. The winds and storms may come, but they also pass. So shall this storm also pass!

    We have been praying for the entire McRae family since we got your moms email and we will be lifting you up in prayer and supplication as God orders your steps and delivers you from this storm!

    If there is anything you need or that we can do, please do not hesitate to let us know!

    Love You Cuz!

    Mick

  9. I’m so sorry for the suffering your family is going through right now. It breaks my heart. Kate is such a beautiful little girl, and although I don’t know your family at all, I can tell from what I’ve read that you are a family of faith. I am praying for you all, and for complete healing for sweet Kate.

  10. Aaron, I just heard Kate’s story tonight. A friend forwarded me the link and I watched your YouTube video.

    I’m so very sorry that Kate and your family are having to endure such agony. I cannot even begin to imagine it.

    But Praise God that you are such a faithful servant. Your faith has already sent countless miracles into action throughout the world. The message of God’s love and faithfulness is echoing throughout the Internet and we can’t even imagine the lives that Kate’s story has touched.

    I am praying that God will also perform the miracle that we all are asking for now — that Kate be completely healed.

    Thank you for sharing your faith with the world!

  11. Been praying for your little girl and your family and will continue to do so.

    May He be your comfort, strength and encouragement at this time.

    With every blessing,

    Laura Anne (@koalainscotland)

  12. I have been so touched by your story and have been praying for Kate! I love what you wrote in this post! It is absolutely beautiful! I believe Jesus is the great physician and can perform a miracle and I can see His mighty hand already at work as Kate has touched so many hearts and is being used by God in an incredible way! I felt the Lord leading me to create a blog button that says Praying for Kate. I hope you don’t mind! It’s on my site and would love to somehow get it to you and your family!

    Continuing to pray!!

    Jen

  13. praying for you…saw your story from a friend of mine on Facebook. If you have a chance go to my blog and click on “Kaedra’s story.” It is about my little 4 1/2 year old that wasn’t supposed to live! God is amazing and I believe he heals today! I believe your Kate is in His strong hands and I am praying for her and for all of you! Blessings and joy and Supernatural healing!

  14. I just heard your story today from two different sources. My family is here in AZ, near you, praying for your little Kate & for your whole family. I have 6 children of my own & can only imagine how this touches all of your lives. We pray that our Heavenly Father will touch your little girl and heal her body, and that He will be there for the rest of you to comfort & bless you as well. I know that He can heal her, if it is His will. Please keep us updated, as difficult as it is. May God bless you all!

  15. Aaron…just wanted to let you know I’ve been praying for the past few days. God has and is still working amazing medical miracles for my wife and daughter, and He has used our story to reach many people who are far from God, for His glory. Let me know if there is anything I can do for you and your family.

    Nathan Lawrenson

  16. I’m praying for you guy’s and I really haven’t had the words to say, but the Lord lead me to this scripture for encouragement. Psalms 34:1-3

    I will bless the LORD at all times;
    His praise shall continually be in my mouth.
    My soul shall make its boast in the LORD;
    The humble shall hear of it and be glad.
    Oh, magnify the LORD with me,
    And let us exalt His name together.

  17. Aaron, I’ve been praying for you and the Lord lead me to a scripture in psalms, I hope you will be encouraged by it-

    psalms 34: 1-3

    1 I will bless the LORD at all times;
    His praise shall continually be in my mouth.
    2 My soul shall make its boast in the LORD;
    The humble shall hear of it and be glad.
    3 Oh, magnify the LORD with me,
    And let us exalt His name together.

  18. Aaron, I just heard Kate’s story. A friend of mine on Facebook posted a YouTube video on her page. Hundreds of comments were posted on her site about this video proclaiming Gods healing upon your little girl.

    I’m so very sorry that Kate and your family are having to endure such agony. I cannot even begin to imagine what you’re going through. Praise God that you are a faithful servant. Your faith has already sent countless miracles into action throughout the world. The message of God’s love and faithfulness is echoing throughout the Internet and we can’t even imagine the lives that Kate’s story has touched.

    I am praying that God will also perform the miracle that we all are asking for now — that Kate be completely healed. I’m praying for restoration in her body. I’m praying for wisdom and strength for you and your wife. God is a God of wonder and miracles and I’m believing that He is going to heal your daughter because He is the true Healer.

    Stay strong!!

  19. Aaron,
    Patty Berens is a friend of mine that is how I found out about Kate, I read about her daily and pray for you all. Three summers ago July 28th my Son was in a tragic accident involving a rope swing, and a underwater tree with a sharp spear like branch in the lake at our summer house. Earlier that summer I picked out a book from my home library that a friend gave me some years back, it was Christ The Healer by F.F, Bosworth. Every year I pick one book for summer reading, I grabbed this one walking out the door. It was a busy summer we even had a wedding for a friend of our at the summer house. The book fascinated me, one week before the accident I heard God tell me to fast and pray for three days. I didn’t really feel like it, but you know God, He insisted. I asked Him why as I often whine and wrestle with God,(thankfully His mercy is new every morning.)
    He said for you children, enough said, I did it. Little did I know what was coming the following Sat. He had prepared me. The story is any parents nightmare, from hearing the first screams in the water, the blood, the ambulance ride, the surgeon saying he may lose his leg, will never play basketball again, will always walk with a limp, and if infection set in will probably lose his life. And I sitting, standing praying, shouting in the spirit,defying all of it. I didn’t recognize myself! Because it wasn’t me! It was the Holy Spirit, He took over, He warred for my son, for me. He did what I could not do, He spoke what I could not speak, He put out the order of what would be allowed and what would not. I know this is long but may it encourage you that Jesus is fighting for you and for Kate. He will never leave you or fore
    sake you. I’m standing in the gap and believing for Kate, may the manifestation of her healing show it self soon. My son is now 21 years old and plays basketball for Point Loma University in San Diego.
    One last thing and this can be the most difficult to do, try will all that is in you to focus on what is not seen not on what can be seen. I know your faith is stronger than the strong man. Gods mercy and blessing will fall upon you and your family.
    In the riches of His glory
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

