A Father’s Love

How deep the Father’s love for us,
How vast beyond all measure
That He should give His only Son
To make a wretch His treasure

(by Stuart Townsend)

I am laying in bed with my daughter who 5 days ago had a Crainiotomy(?, no help from spell check here). I am a little stuck, she wants me or mommy by her side, so I can’t get down until Holly comes back from getting ready for the day. So, I have no Bible, I will just give you the Aaron version of some Scripture that’s on my mind.

As I sit here, I thought of that line above, ‘How deep the Father’s love for us…’. I was reminded as I have been several times in the past week, that I am not the only father who has experienced pain. I am not even close to being the best father that has ever endured these kind of hardships. Our Heavenly Father himself knows the agonizing pain of watching His Son go through torture and pain. I am sure the Father’s heart broke over the path His Son had to walk. However, there was a greater motive at work, a purpose that only time and eventually eternity would reveal as the ultimate reason for this brutality.

We are told countless times in the Bible that God sent His Son as a sacrifice for our sins, why, because of His ‘deep’ love. Even though we were sinners, even though many would reject His sacrifice, God willingly sent Jesus on a rescue mission that would cost our Lord His life.

Here today I am trying to be the best father I can possibly be, and save my daughters life! I am fighting for her, praying for her healing, why, because I love her. I will not stop fighting, I will not stop praying, why, because I love her. Moments like these reveal to me the heights, and depths of God’s love. I want to fight for the life of my Kate, God was willing to offer His Jesus. I am solely focused on the recovery of my own flesh and blood, God’s attention was toward a world in need.

Understanding the Father’s love makes me want to be a better daddy, a better husband, a better friend. Although I may never fully live out the love God has displayed, today I can step in that direction, pray for His power, live in the power of His Spirit! We love because He first loved us…

13 thoughts on “A Father’s Love

  1. I cannot imagine what you and your family are going through right now and my heart breaks for you.

    I’m not sure what I could possibly say to lighten your burden, but please know that I’ve been praying for Kate and also for you and your family to be strengthened during this awful time. No doubt you are all feeling the effects of the strain and stress from this past week and I just pray that the Lord will give you the strength you need to get through to the other side of this.

    For what it’s worth, we’re out here and we’re praying for you.

    Grace, love and peace.

  2. Aaron and Holly,
    We are fervently praying for you. Today we pray for the meeting for the doctors. We are so thrilled God answered our prayers and you all are in your own room.
    Our hearts hurt for you all. We talk about you throughout the day, and pray for you often. We so want this nightmare to end for you. Yet, we too know that God’s love is huge and His plan is bigger than we know.
    I pray for so many things for you all, but mostly that blessings would rain down soon and swiftly.
    We love you guys,
    Andra and Jeremy Good

  3. we are not letting up on our prayers for you. we continue to intercede for your family.

    your precious kate has become, somewhat, everyone’s little girl. we all have fallen quickly in love with her and want nothing more than to see her healed. to see God show off in this!

  4. I cannot understand the emotions you have right now as you suffer through your daughter’s illness/surgery/testings/diagnosis and eventually through her treatment. I cannot understand why children get sick. I cannot understand a father’s love, for I am a mother. But I understand the love of my Heavenly Father… and as you sit and hold your daughter because she needs you, remember, He sits beside you and is holding you too.

    We will stand in the gap for you for as long as you need us to.

  5. This Arizona family is praying for your Arizona family! Please email me because my children and I would like to put something together for all of your children. Just a little gift box of suprises. We could drop it off at your church or the hospital. I just need the ages of your other two children. You can verify my “normalness” with Gayle at Skyway Church of the West Valley 623-935-5848 or at Banner Estrella Hospital Labor and Delivery 623-327-5847.
    Amey Clark

  6. Our lives have already been touched by your sweet Kate. We ourselves have walked through very dark, uncertain times while our boys struggled for their lives in the NICU. Although much different circumstances, we were able to grasp a little better how DEEPness and VASTness of our Father’s love. Praying for comfort, wisdom, strength, and peace as you journey along side of our Savior.

    You are in our prayers continually.

  7. Our dear friends Aaron and Holly,

    We are relieved on one hand because you know now, you know what you’re dealing with, but on the other hand, we hurt for you. As parents, we understand the love for our child, but until you are where you are right now, I guess we truly don’t understand the depth of that love…a Father’s love! We continue to pray for complete healing for Kate – we believe our God can do this and will do this! We pray for both of you that you will look at this as one day at a time, don’t allow yourself to look too far ahead – one day at a time – the future is in His hands! We are in this for the journey – we commit to interceding on your behalf day after day until we see the end – the end of this awful disease! The day we see Kate completely restored! Love you guys!!

  8. I have before thought of that verse, “And we know that all things work for the good of those who love God and called according to His purposes.” And in situations like what you face, I find myself questioning what the good is. But God’s word is not lacking as we see that He had already established that His ways are not our ways and His thoughts are not our thoughts. As well, more than the grains of sands are the thoughts that the Lord think towards us. In that light, the Spirit simply responds, “What is not good about this?” God sees beyond the day to day to THE DAY that this becomes a story told to the brokenhearted to bring them peace, stregth and encouragement. You continue to inspire…

  9. Aaron,
    What a beautiful picture you have painted of LOVE! In reading all of the comments & thousands of blogs that are out there, I can’t help but feel the LOVE that is connecting all of us, the love rooted in Him! I’m in Delaware at about noon Thursday & have paused to offer up prayers for Kate, you & the girls. I truly feel that THE HEALER is on the scene & even now His hand is touching every part of this situation. I’m reminded of how Jesus restored the life of the little girl, and how by the mere “touching of his garment” the woman was healed from her issue of blood! The Master’s Hands are on Kate, your family and the whole team. Wow! How I’ve been blessed to see so very many from everywhere come together & remain in continual prayer! Tammy, the kids & I will continue to intercede and we “believe” the healing is already in progress. May you continue to draw closer to our Lord & thank you for blessing so very many through your faith & testimony in this situation. God pour out a double portion on my brother! Amen
    Jeff

  10. Aaron,
    What a blessing you are to so many of us out here. We have no idea of what you’re going through but are continually strengthened & encouraged by your faith and reliance upon our Savior Jesus Christ! May you abide in His arms & may your strength, faith & courage be drawn directly from His marvelous GRACE & Mercy!
    Our prayers continue!
    Jeff

  11. I am so sorry that kate and your family has to go through this!

    If I believed in prayer, I’d definitely pray for you. The only thing I can offer are words of encouragement and letting you know that your family is in my family’s thoughts and hearts. We also donate to cancer research at UCSF and will make sure to donate in your family’s name next time.

    Peace to your family.

Leave a Reply

