Pain & Prayer

If you have a minute to spare, and a Bible somewhere close grab it and read 2 Corinthians 1: 3-11. This passage just amazed me in it’s relevance to my life this afternoon. We are in the middle of a trial like we could never have imagined, but through it we are still seeing and sensing God’s faithfulness and the love of His people.

Here are some quick thoughts from what God is speaking through this Scripture…

-sometimes severe trials are God-sized opportunities to teach us the beauty of  TOTALLY DEPENDING on HIM (v9)

-our hope is in a God with resurrection power who still delivers today (v10)

-God’s people praying together with one voice is a mysterious & mighty experience (v11)

-when responsibility to pray is divided (shared) among the His people the praise is MULTIPLIED through the many (v11)

We have heard from friends and family, even strangers around the world who have joined us in prayer for Kate. All I can say is, thank you for praying, and I look forward to the day we can all praise God together for His deliverance…   God Bless

10 thoughts on “Pain & Prayer

  1. I thank you for allowing so may of us to take this journey with you. To watch as God works in your life but also see how he is working in the lives of others. You are will continue to be held up in prayer.

  2. I am one of those you have never met… I will continue to pray “I will never, ever, ever, give up on the promises of God”

  3. Hey Aaron,

    Oh how I wish I could take away the cancer cells in Kate. I wish that ya’ll didn’t have to deal with this. While I don’t have that power I do have a relationship with the one who does have that power! I’m praying for Kate and have told several others too as well. I’ve never posted anything but felt lead to today. I teach s
    Sunday School for 1st-3rd grade and we are learning the names of God. Last week we learned about Jehovah Rophe-The Lord who heals! We committed to pray for Kate and we are going to send her something soon!! Thank you for sharing those verses. Our God is amazing and there is nothing that God can’t save us from! Our God reigns!!!

    With Christ’s love and lots of prayers, Dani

  4. You have never met me, but I know Paul and Lisa Alexander. That is how I heard of your story. I am praying for Kate and your family. I’ve been spreading her story in hopes that others will pray as well. Always know that Kate is loved. Even by those who do not know her. =]
    Cameron

  5. Hey Aaron,

    Oh how I wish I could take away the cancer cells in Kate. I wish that ya’ll didn’t have to deal with this. While I don’t have that power I do have a relationship with the one who does have that power! I’m praying for Kate and have told several others too as well. I’ve never posted anything but felt lead to today. I teach Sunday School for 1st-3rd grade and we are learning the names of God. Last week we learned about Jehovah Rophe-The Lord who heals! We committed to pray for Kate and we are going to send her something soon!! Thank you for sharing those verses. Our God is amazing and there is nothing that God can’t save us from! Our God reigns!!!

    With Christ’s love and lots of prayers, Dani

  6. Dear Aaron ,
    My wife, Cindi, and I pray for you and Kate and your other children all of the time and ask our friends and church to pray for you also. I preached today because our pastor was away. I was preaching about the appearances of The Angel Of The LORD in the Old Testament, and how there is evidence that this is Christ. Not an angel – but the angel. This angel is said to actually be God in most of the passages concerning Him. He never appears again after the birth of Christ. Anyway, one of His manifestations brought your situation to mind. The account is found at Genesis 21:8-20. Basically, Hagar had been banished to the desert, had run out of water and hope, had drug her very sick child under a bush probably to shade him from the scorching heat, and then went about a bow shot from him because she could not bear to see him die. She was weeping, and the scripture tells of how the angel of the LORD came to their aid and saved the child’s life. This speaks of Christ’s tender, loving care for a severely ill child, and I hope this story will give you hope. I also thought this verse was appropriate:
    Isaiah 63:9 In all their affliction he was afflicted, and the angel of his presence saved them; in his love and in his pity he redeemed them; he lifted them up and carried them all the days of old.
    With my warmest Christian greetings,
    Allen Barnes
    P.S. We were thrilled to know Kate did not vomit last night!

  7. Hey Aaron

    Just wanted you to know how deeply you have impacted our family and friends around us. I ask everyone I come in contact with to join me in praying for Kate every day. I’ve read your entire journal entry on the CaringBridge website and have become sooo attached to Kate and your family. Every morning I wake up to see if there is a new entry in the journal, to see how my prayers were answered for Kate. I feel so deeply for what you as parents must be going through, although I can’t imagine it myself. As a fellow parent I not only pray for Kate throughout the day, but for you and Holly as well. In your own way I know you need prayers just as much as she does!! Have vowed to not stop praying until Kate is completely cured!!

    Love you all!
    Janet
    (Canada)

  8. Dear Aaron,
    I am very grateful to learn of your journey being shared here; and I truly believe you will find much healing as you share your heart and see the progress also of the miracles that come, as you and your family work through this difficult journey, with us at your side.

    I continue to hold Kate and your family up in prayer each day!

    I know in the midst of trials, it is essential to have the net of support from a genuine caring community; just knowing that prayers are going through when you’re exhausted and discouraged!

    I believe that God will not only ‘lead you by grace’ through each day but he will ‘provide’ for you in unexpected ways, especially as you continue to seek him out and ‘the wider view of love and faith’. Expect blessings, and they will come in his timing and hold close to his promise that you will have ‘a future and a hope’ even on this earth. He lovingly blesses also and will surely use this soft situation to become one of beautiful character, grace and testimony!

    i wanted to share this encouragement for you today for I believe that God will continue to bless you as you continue to have strong faith throughout this time:

    [A diamond is the strongest mineral in the earth. It is strong because it is nearly pure carbon. Yet graphite is also carbon, but why is the diamond strong while graphite is soft and rubbery. It’s because in a diamond the carbon atoms form and bond differently than in graphite. Same substance, but strong or weak forces between the carbons cause either the carbon to be diamonds or graphite. The same is with our faith, if we allow certain truths (carbon) to bond strongly in our lives, our faith will become strong. Other wise if we hear the truths of the Word but do not allow the truths to bond into our spirits, then our faith will become soft and weak. God wants your faith to be pure and strong like a diamond, not weak like graphite. Pure faith is strong faith!] by Tom Brown
    source: http://www.tbm.org/strongfaith.htm

    Blessings to you,
    May you stay encouraged!
    A song that helped me so much during some horrible trials i just did not understand in my life why it was allowed to happen, was ‘Someday’ by Nicole Nordeman. I hope that you can hear it..

    hugs and prayers,
    luv Jen Zuniga

  9. Aaron, still praying for Kate and all of you…thank you for sharing the bible verses. Through your pain you are helping strangers (me) deal with my own.

  10. My name is Wendy, and my significant other is Sean. We lost Madison Haugan on June 7th 2008. This childhood cancer stuff.. is heartbreaking, watching your learning journey is also hard because it brings back the memory’s of just how discouraging this disease really is and how powerless we really are. We do have Jesus, and we do have promisses that come to us believers. Anyone who is a believes understands even the strongest in faith are shaken in the face of this disease called Cancer.
    Sean has MS, and alot of pain issues . He rely’s alot on CB and networking for support and encouragment, and even inspirations. Being homebound alot of the time because of health issues and financial reasons it is devistating to have his only daughter die, so young with all his ailments, he sometimes wished it was him and not her. Sad place to be for a father. I am going to ask as a fellow christian sister for ALL to come and visit Seans CB site he has for his daughter Madison who is so sadly missed. Her smile and laughter is suddenly gone from our lives. Sean, more than I needs encouragment in the WORD so if you could please stop in ANYONE, and offer a kind word of the WORD that would sure be a blessing. I trust the Lord will bless you for it! Also if you need prayer, one way Sean and I cope with our pain is to pray for others so please ASK us if you need someone to be in agreeance with you. Let us know! We have the time, and the faith to get the job done!
    Wendy Fish
    http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/madisonhaugan

    Please stop by and sign the guestbook!!!!!

Leave a Reply

