In The Midst

In_The_Midst_RaveCard_front

A few months ago I taught a class at our church (Cornerstone Christian Fellowship) entitled ‘In the Midst‘. All around us we were noticing friends, families, and a world hurting and in desperate need. As a church we were prompted to address the topic of suffering and pain from a Biblical perspective. Little did I know how close this topic would soon hit home. In this class I wanted to study the Bible and find great men and women of faith who through their own trials could speak into ours, yet I approached the study with an angle. I believe that in difficult times many people turn to God, many cry out to him, pray, etc… However, few people ever really listen in the midst of their pain. It is hard, I admit, to try to find calm when you are being slammed by a vicious storm of life. But what if in the middle of our hurt, God can still be heard. I agree with C.S. Lewis who wrote these enlightening words…

“But pain insists upon being attended to. God whispers to us in our pleasures, speaks in our conscience, but shouts in our pains: it is His megaphone to rouse a deaf world.”
—The Problem of Pain

Now having entered and finding myself  ‘in the midst’ of the most intense storm I could imagine, I want to post some of the thoughts from this study. I need the reminders right now and hopefully they will be of some benefit to anyone who reads them. So over the next week or so I hope to publish some of these here.

2 thoughts on “In The Midst

  1. Aaron, I look forward to walking this study with you. You guys are forever in my heart and I admire your testimony in these most difficult times. Your words bring comfort, just knowing that your faith IS carrying you through. I don’t just pray for Kate’s healing, I pray for your strength as head of your home to lead your family through this trial, and I pray for Holly to walk through this with a strength she didn’t even know she possessed… a strength that comes from her relationship with a loving, heavenly Father. You both are having to truly “walk out your faith” more than most have to in a lifetime. You are an inspiration to us all. Keep your eyes on the One who holds you in the palm of His hand and lovingly embraces you near His heart. Praying with you all the way.

    Love you guys,
    Vickie

  2. Dear Aaron and Holly, I have followed your story since your dear Kate was diagnosed. You see, when I saw her beautiful little picture, she reminded me of my beautiful little son Max. My son Max was diagnosed with a brain tumour (ATRT) August 7, 2008 and he died August 27, 2008 after a full-resection of the tumour on August 9, 2008. He was my middle child – he was two and he was precious and beautiful. He was everything to our family and our hearts ache every day for him. I just wanted to share with you a little about my journey this year. Before Max died I would say I was searching for my faith – a little lost at times. Since Max’s passing, there is no doubt in my mind that there is a loving God who has a plan for me. That He is rooting for me right now and would love for me to help others in their own trials. God is so good and He will only give you want you can handle – this I know for sure. We were sent so many blessing in the midst of the worst nightmare. You are strong and God will show you the way if you just let Him. He will intervene when need be. It has only been a year for my family and I – we have moved countries and changed jobs so that we could be near family – we have regrouped as a family – we are stronger than ever and we know and value what is truly important in life. I am a better person having loved and lost Max (yes I have an intense sadness that will always be a part of me). God gives us what we need and if we look for Him we see that He is always there with us. My heart breaks for you and your family – I pray that you will find peace and love in this journey and that your dear sweet Kate will be cured. Take care and God Bless.

Leave a Reply

