thoughts on fasting

In Celebration of Discipline, Richard J. Foster has a great chapter called ‘The Discipline of Fasting’. Here are a few highlights that keep me on track!

-Biblical fasting always centers on spiritual purposes.

-In most cases fasting is a private matter between the individual and God. There are, however, occasional times of corporate or public fasts.

-Fasting is not necessarily a commandment…but…in Matthew 6 Jesus does not say. ‘If you fast,’ neither does he say ‘You must fast’. His word is, very simply, ‘When you fast’.

-Fasting must forever center on God. If our fasting is not unto God, we have failed. Physical benefits, success in prayer, the enduing with power, spiritual insights- these must never replace God as the center of our fasting…Once the primary purpose of fasting is firmly fixed in our hearts, we are liberty to understand that there are also secondary purposes in fasting.

-Fasting reminds us we are sustained ‘by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God’ )Matthew 4:4

-You will be engaging in spiritual warfare that will necessitate using all the weapons of Ephesians 6.

-Fasting can bring breakthroughs in the spiritual realm that can never happen in any other way.

In asking for a time of prayer and fasting for Kate, we are hoping to be a part of a movement that seeks God more passionately, knows Him more intimately and see’s His glory revealed on earth. Kate’s healing is important and we will continue to cry out to God that He will be gracious and grant our request. However, His glory is the ultimate goal and all of our efforts in prayer are to exalt Jesus! God gives us the unbelievable privilege to have access to Him in prayer and to trust that He actually hears us! So, with boldness we call out, with hope we know He is listening, and in fasting we withdraw from the cares of this world for a time to declare Jesus, You are LORD!

PRACTICALLY: We strive to saturate our times of prayer and fasting with…

Praise

Psalm 9:1-2 I will praise you, O LORD, with all my heart; I will tell of all your wonders. I will be glad and rejoice in you; I will sing praise to your name, O Most High.

Scripture

Matthew 4:4 Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.

12 thoughts on “thoughts on fasting

  1. I will fast with you for your sweet girl. Your faith and strength is an inspiration. I hug my sweet girls a little tighter and have learned to appreciate even the tough times by reading your caringbridge updates. Your family is in my daily thoughts and prayers.

    Amanda Carmello
    Auburn, Al.

  2. You are in my prayers- precious Kate and the whole family. Your daughter’s website and this blog are such a great inspiration and a reminder that we are all here to glorify our Lord, no matter what! Your strength during this time is so encouraging, please keep it up 🙂

    You will be blessed, I just know it.

    Much love and many prayers,
    Ashley

    Wichita Falls, TX

  3. I wanted to let you know I fasted and prayed for Kate today! I will do without sweets for her until Thursday. We continue to pray daily for your beautiful, precious family!

  4. “I will see the goodness of the Lord.” Psalm 27:13
    True faith sustains us in the most trying of times, even when everything around us seems to contradict God’s Word. Faith that believes it “will see,” will keep us from becoming discouraged.

  5. I am joining you in fasting for your precious daughter. I have also written a post to spread the word and add to the numbers of those praying for her. May you find some level of comfort in the arms of Jesus tonight.

  6. Fasting and praying with your family….believing God for a miracle for Sweet Kate!!! That she will come through this trial without even the smell of smoke…our God is a Mighty God and He is MIGHTY TO SAVE!

  7. Just wanted you to know that I am fasting and praying with your family and believing God for a miracle for Sweet Kate…that she will come through this trial without even the smell of smoke. Our God is a Mighty God and HE IS MIGHTY TO SAVE.

  8. I have been lifting sweet Kate (and your entire family) up in prayer! Your family has been a light to so many and I personally have grown closer to the Lord through prayer and fasting for your daughter. I am spreading the word and asking others to join all of us in prayer. He can do more than we ever ask or imagine!!!

  9. James 1:2-8,12
    2Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, 3because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. 4Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. 5If any of you lacks wisdom, he should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to him. 6But when he asks, he must believe and not doubt, because he who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. 7That man should not think he will receive anything from the Lord; 8he is a double-minded man, unstable in all he does. 12Blessed is the man who perseveres under trial, because when he has stood the test, he will receive the crown of life that God has promised to those who love him.

  10. Aaron,
    On Monday I fasted for 24 hours. I allowed myself only liquids and in any moment I felt weak or hunger I prayed for Kate. I prayed on my hands and knees for blessed MRI results. I prayed for no tummy pain, for no residual side effects from the chemo. I prayed that you will soon see Kate get on the school bus and attend her first day of school. I prayed that when you hand her the car keys on her 16th birthday she plays a fun song on the radio as she drives safely down the street. I prayed that when you walk her down the aisle on her wedding day (in 28 years…I have a daughter too…Let’s not rush it!) that she is overcome with a rush of love that she never knew she could feel. I prayed that when she looks into the eyes of her own child one day she can tell that baby of all she has overcome because of the love of her Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. And because the power of prayer is intense and true! My family prayed with me. There is never a moment that your family isn’t in our thoughts. We are anxiously awaiting the MRI results and are looking forward in rejoicing along with you.
    God Bless you today and always
    Cassie Jebber

Leave a Reply

