Trusting God (my latest read)

9781600063053The other day I finished reading “Trusting God: Even When Life Hurts” by Jerry Bridges here are a some of the highlights for me. This was not an easy read for me at this time but it was an important one. I tried to reduce my selection of thoughts but found most too hard to delete. So here they are…(BOLD added by me)

-As Augustine said, “Nothing, therefore, happens unless the Omnipotent wills it to happen; he either permits it to happen, or he brings it about himself.”

-Our first priority in times of adversity is to honor and glorify God by trusting him…we honor God by choosing to trust him when we don’t understand what He is doing or why he has allowed some adverse circumstance to occur.

-God’s sovereignty and God’s promises were intended to stimulate prayer…Because God is sovereign, He is able to answer. Because He is faithful to His promises, He will answer.

-God always has a purpose for the grief He brings or allows in our lives. Most often we do not know what that purpose is, but it is enough to know that His infinite wisdom and perfect love have determined that the particular sorrow is best for us. God never wastes pain.

-Although we may be going to the Scriptures to learn how to respond to our adversities, we find those adversities help us to understand the Scriptures.

-For the believer all pain has meaning; all adversity is profitable.

-…trusting God is first of all a matter of the will and is not dependent on my feelings. I choose to trust God, and my feelings eventually follow.

-We are responsible to obey the will of God, but we are dependent upon the Holy Spirit for the enabling power to do it.

 

5 thoughts on “Trusting God (my latest read)

  1. Hi Aaron,
    Thanks for posting the link to this; it was exactly what I needed to hear today. Still praying for you, the family, and Kate!
    -Cheri (Meadows) Dawson

  2. This was a great post. We lost our son Isaac, on October 7, 2008 just 16 minutes after he was born. I have read several great books on this topic, but haven’t yet read this one. I will need to pick it up for sure. Still praying for you guys!

  3. Just wanted you to know that my family is praying without ceasing for yours. And God never ceases to amaze me – I was overwhelmed with a personal situation this morning and asking the Lord to help me TRUST Him. When I opened your post I was so uplifted by your words, they were absolutely an answer to prayer – Thank you!
    In Christ,
    Stacy
    Psalm 107:19-21

  4. Aaron,

    remembering you & yours fervently in my prayers. Your post ~ book review was awesome. I have struggled with intense grief over my reality. Your view ~ take on this ~ inspires me to take heart ~ to smile. I vow this day to make it shine for his glory.

    Blessings @ 4:44 a.m.

    Nancy ~ your sister in Christ.

  5. Aaron,

    You are such a brave man for reading this book during this intense battle. It took me four times trying to finish this book. I threw it away the first three tries.

    On the fourth attempt it was a textbook for a college course. God has such a way of bringing His will & plan to our lives. He knew I needed to read it so He made it mandatory to finish my degree.

    It was such a struggle for me for reasons unnecessary to clog your blog with. I used post-a-notes to mark every statement I needed to deal with. There were probably at least 100 of them. Someone saw them and asked me if I always read a book that way. I said no “just this one because I know there is something I have to get out of it for my own spiritual benefit.”

    It took me months to wrestle through it. I almost quit school to avoid dealing with it. But I found that when the book is read in it’s entirety it is powerful. I was making the mistake of stopping before reading the whole thing which left me feeling that there was a lot of things that were required of me that there was no way I could do.

    When read from cover to cover I came to the same basic conclusions as you. I can’t trust God apart from the Holy Spirit. Really I can’t do anything of spiritual value apart from Him.

    We continue to lift each one of you up on a daily basis. Words cannot adequately express how brightly all of you are shining for Jesus.

    God does not waste anything. He’s already using this pain in powerful ways. I pray that the Presence and power of the Holy Spirit will rest heavily upon you, Holly, Kate, Olivia, & Will in the coming days.

    Thanks for sharing this wonderful review.

Leave a Reply

