busyness is not a virtue

I often find it interesting how we as humans brag about the strangest things. For instance, when did “I am so busy” become an acceptable answer to, “How are you doing?”. Many of us, me included, have this tendency to throw out “I am so busy” as if it is a badge of honor, a status symbol or some kind of measure of our importance and success. I am not advocating for idle hands or laziness, but being consumed by our ‘to-do lists’ doesn’t seem to be much of an alternative either. Our time is of great value, and we must be vigilant to spend it well, as the Apostle Paul said…

Ephesians 5: 15Be very careful, then, how you live—not as unwise but as wise, 16making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.

I need to be remind of this daily, I think most of us do! Unless of course you are like Martin Luther, who said something like: I have so much to do tomorrow that I must spend the first 3 hours in prayer. If this is you, feel free to totally disregard this post!

One thought on “busyness is not a virtue

  1. Agreed. Personally, I tend to look at those people who are always “swamped” as those with the least impact often. Even if you work 24 hours a day, you only produce the work of one person. It’s the people who have learned the leverage of technology or force multiplication, IMHO, that make impacts beyond the capabilities of a single person. I think there’s a book called Time Traps that talks about getting caught up and feeling busy with the non-essential, non-urgent tasks in life but inappropriately equate it to productivity. I hope that we can move past the current conventional wisdom that busy is equal to importance and instead measure our contributions as the value add.

Leave a Reply

