Do you ‘pray’ like this?

Mark 11: 23“I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him. 24Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.”

I was reading through Mark today and was bewildered once again by this passage! What do you think Jesus really means? This promise, if it is a promise, seems way too good to be true! I know there have been claims on passages like this that seem to interpret them as a carte blanche, ask for anything you would like and you will ‘receive’, and by anything they mean anything.

However, there are so many accounts in the gospels of Jesus saying something like this, that it makes me think there must be more to faith and prayer than most of us are actually experiencing. I wonder has the pendulum swung too far in the other direction to where we do not really ask, we don’t actually ‘believe’. Are our expectations limited more by our experiences than by God’s promises?

3 thoughts on “Do you ‘pray’ like this?

  1. I think It’s a challenge for me because I want to be in God’s will. It’s not that I don’t believe my Father would give me what I ask for, but maybe it’s not in his will.

  2. I must say…in 40 years I have prayed many, many times and I seriously only now find myself praying and believing, actually knowing that God will heal Kate completely because I am ASKING and I am not doubting Him that He will completely heal her.

    I thought I was feeling this was too easy because I am not there, but I find myself thinking about her and your family hourly. I know He is using your experience to teach others, as I have learned so much about myself and my relationship with Him through your battles.
    You are a wonderful example and I am only too lucky to call myself a prayer warrior for Kate.
    I KNOW He will not fail us and is healing Kate in HIS time which I am completely fine with because I know He WILL answer our prayers. The prayers of COMPLETE healing of your daughter.

  3. I know that not to long ago I mentioned this ‘concern’ to Luis Palau. I want to know why I am not like Noah with a faith so strong I could be trusted so much. I had been pondering Hebrews 11 at the time. I told him I want that BIG faith. Here is his response verbatum. I kept it. šŸ™‚

    I hope He doesn’t want you to make an ark – a flood coming! Good thing we have that rainbow as a promise. Meditate on Ephesians 3:30-31. “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine…” that’s BIG!

    I personally think we can be too luke warm to call a mountain into the sea. We need to live with BIG faith. Maybe the faith of a child is big enough.

    This very topic has truly been resonating in my heart and soul now for a few months. Seems it has with you as well.

Leave a Reply

