What is the greatest lesson learned since this time last year?

I am sitting here trying to think through how our life has been altered since Christmas 2008. I have absolutely no words to describe the depth of change that has happened in our lives.

On the one hand thoughts like this come to mind: upheaval, shattered dreams, chaos, frustration…

But on the other hand I think of: hope, trust, faithfulness, unfailing love, prevailing faith…

So, I find myself asking this question ‘What is the greatest lesson learned since this time last year?’ The reality is, I am desperate to learn, and desiring that I will respond well. I don’t want to waste this time, but sometimes life makes living awfully hard. For now, I pray for grace, I cry out for strength, because, I don’t want to just learn about, I want to live it out!

I am not sure about the ‘greatest’ lesson learned but here is one I’m stuck on…

God never changes, everything else can!

Malachi 3: 6 “I the LORD do not change.

Hebrews 13: 8Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

9 thoughts on “What is the greatest lesson learned since this time last year?

  1. I have walked a winding up and down road for a long time. The greatest thing that I have learned is to just Let Go…because the same God who healed the leper, and the boy with seizures can heal me and take my pain. Let Go of my health, my friends, my family and Trust God. Trusting God is so hard, I don’t know why I keep giving Him my pain and then taking it back. I love God, but I desire to be In Love With God! Im learning how to trust, one day at a time…….I love you and Holly, Aaron and I love your family, yall are always in my prayers……Merry Christmas!!!

  2. Hebrews 11. The words “by faith” resonate to my very core. I have lived this year by faith in a lot of personal areas and continue to as well. I am trying so hard to choose God’s way over the popular way. Trying to make the decisions that may take more courage. Thank you for walking this journey with me and for letting me walk your journey with you.

  3. My Mom passed away on January 7th. In the midst of everyones grief, bitterness that has been growing for years festered to the point of poisoning and damaging relationships between siblings. My lesson this year has been to never allow the bitterness to take root. Deal with hurts immediately and be swift to forgive. Romans 12:18 (NKJV) If it is possible, as much as depends on you, live peaceably with all men

  4. The biggest lesson I’ve learned since this time last year is that God does not waste the pain I endure and without it, I would not know Him to the deepest extent that I do now. My “Plan B” may just very well have always been God’s “Plan A” and if so, I want to pursue THAT plan because nothing else will even compare.

    Praying for your family. I feel like the whole world is watching what God is doing with precious Kate…

  5. Part of my story involves your family and mine. This summer my Dad and Step Mom, around the same time as Kate’s diagnosis, got malaria as a result of not taking their meds for malaria. My dad called me in July from the hospital to explain that he was dying and the reason was that he chose not to take his meds (at this point he had not slept in 3 weeks and it was tearing him apart). I love my Father, but in my heart I believe that he had put God to the test and therefore deserved his impending death. He and my step mother, who got incredibly worse than my dad, were both miraculously healed…no other way to explain it. Kate, who I had been desperately been praying for (and still am), lay in the hospital having done nothing to deserve what she was going through…this was very hard to deal with. My parents deserved what they were going through, Kate didn’t…HOW IS GOD JUST?….HOW IS THAT JUST? Romans 11:33-36 blew my mind and helped me understand that my version of everything comes from a sinful, human perspective…God’s ways are perfect because He is perfect….His version of justice is different than my version of justice. I have to rest in the fact that He is God and I am not, my versions of love, justice, grace, mercy, anger…etc are imperfect and his versions are perfect, Romans 11:33-36 helped me deal with that.

  6. Such a great question. I need time to think about what was the greatest lesson I learned in 2009. I just want to tell you how I have been blessed richly by reading about little Kate–the struggles, the highs, the lows–the openness of your feelings and struggles. i pray for you guys almost every day.

  7. I always asked God to show me what he wanted me to learn while I watched my son go through a terminal illness. I experienced GRACE like I never could have conceived possible. My belief in the Lord was so much stonger after going through it all. I now know ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE WITH GOD!!!!! HE IS THE EVERLASTING FATHER!!!!!

  8. I love this post as I am so there. January of 2009 my 6 year old was diagnosed & healed of Kawasaki Syndrome…Oct of 2009 my non smoking husband was diagnosed with stage 4 lung cancer. My faith is so much stronger now. What I’ve learned is that All things are possible with GOD and that HE never changes. My prayers are with you and your family. I trust & pray that my husband & your daughter will be completely healed of this monster called cancer! Be Blessed my friend.

Leave a Reply

