Stand OR Fight?

In ‘Tales of Power’ Don Juan says that ‘The basic difference between an ordinary man and a warrior is that a warrior takes everything as a challenge while an ordinary man takes everything either as a blessing or a curse.” Is this totally accurate? Is this the difference between passivity and activism? What do you think? I think most of us have a little trouble navigating this tension, either by relying too much on our ability, or in surrendering completely to circumstances. Give me your thoughts…

3 thoughts on “Stand OR Fight?

  1. Honestly if I look at all things as an adventure. Part of this amazing God given journey called life and I trust Him whole heartedly I accept and even love the challenge. However, if I am inward focused I see hardship, defeat, burdens and I whine. I whine pitifully and pathetically. So I am in agreement. It’s either a challenge or an adventure but one that if embraced seems to be easier.

  2. I find it difficult to believe that a true warrior would consider taking everything as a challenge. I would think they would want to look at whatever situation they were in and try to diffuse it before it grew into a monster.
    At least this is what I took away from karate years ago when I practiced.

Leave a Reply

