Stop Complaining (the Bible tells me so…)

Philippians 2:14Do everything without complaining or arguing, 15so that you may become blameless and pure, children of God without fault in a crooked and depraved generation, in which you shine like stars in the universe 16as you hold out the word of life—in order that I may boast on the day of Christ that I did not run or labor for nothing.

Complaining, huh? Wow! When was the last time you heard a sermon about complaining being a distinguishing mark of holiness? When I read this verse today this one word captured my eyes. Complaining is one of those subtle areas that impacts much deeper than we imagine. Complaining is not a headline sin, and it may not get a lot of press these days but the doing of it often reveals the real story of what’s going on inside us. Sounds like what Jesus said: Luke 6:45 For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.

I will ask the questions I asked myself: If all that I knew about you was from the words you have spoken since waking up this morning, what would I know about you? What would your words reveal?

5 thoughts on “Stop Complaining (the Bible tells me so…)

  1. Thanks for the reminder. Complaining and arguing sure don’t let Christ show in our lives. We are suppose to show God’s love in what we do and say.

  2. This message has been a blessing to me and I plan to share it with my kids and co workers who often times find the bad in all situations rather than the blessing in front of them. I am guilty of this at times as well. Though in following the stories of your Kate and a handful of other children I have been blessed to learn about, I have come to realize that we all have blessings in our lives even in tragady and turmoil. We must make the decision to focus on God and know that He alone has provided us with the greatest blessing of all, our savalation and knowing we are never alone!

Leave a Reply

