A Call to Fast for Kate

Almost four months ago we sent out an urgent plea to Christ’s people of prayer on behalf of our daughter. We hoped to gather a small tribe of intercessors who would fast and pray over an upcoming MRI Kate was going to have and that Jesus Christ would be glorified through this entire process. The response to our request was more than we imagined. We were overjoyed at the emails and blog comments from friends and strangers alike committing to fasting & prayer. By the way, God gave us a favorable MRI, ‘significant decrease in the size of the tumor’ were the doctors exact words. We also have heard powerful testimonies of how Christ has moved in the hearts of men and women far from Him, and drawn them to Himself.

Kate has now endured 3 additional rounds of chemotherapy and will be undergoing another MRI, tomorrow morning Friday January 8th, to determine the success of the treatments. Our hearts are hopeful and trusting an Almighty God who is able to do the impossible. We believe a fast is a profound way to express our absolute dependence and desperation for God. We are dependent on Him for He alone is the Creator, Sustainer, and Great Physician. We are desperate because we are fighting against the odds, and modern medicine as good as it is has limitations, but God has no limits!

[***I already had this post written and then the doctor just walked into the hospital room and said they are going to try to schedule Kate’s MRI for this afternoon (Thursday). WOW, it still is shocking and we weren’t quite prepared to hear this this fast. Praise God, He is not surprised or caught off guard!!!]

Early on in this process we decided to walk this journey publicly. We have never hesitated to share Kate’s story and send out pleas for prayer. Every step of the way we have experienced God’s faithfulness, and the support of prayer warriors all over the world. We have been wonderfully surprised on so many occasions. We are once again sending out a call for help.

PLEASE PRAY for…

-a clean MRI, that tumor will be gone completely, every cancer cell destroyed

-wisdom for our doctors and people reviewing the MRI

-Kate to tolerate the anesthesia and MRI

-Jesus Christ to be glorified and made famous

Some of you have made it known that you are interested in fasting but have never done so, and going without food sounds a bit frightening. For some people, fasting from food is not he best method for health reasons. If this is the case fasting from things like technology (TV, internet, social media), sleep, or going out are among many other options that are available. The point is withdrawing from something you usually do, and rely on, in order to devote yourself more wholeheartedly to God and depend (rely) on Him. Here is a link to an incredible ministry that is calling Christians to fast and pray to start out this year. I am planning to participate and they have multiple resources provided on their web-site concerning fasting.

Awakening 21 Days of Prayer and Fasting

Isaiah 58:6 Is not this the kind of fasting I have chosen: to loose the chains of injustice and untie the cords of the yoke, to set the oppressed free and break every yoke? 7 8 Then your light will break forth like the dawn, and your healing will quickly appear; then your righteousness will go before you, and the glory of the LORD will be your rear guard Is it not to share your food with the hungry and to provide the poor wanderer with shelter— when you see the naked, to clothe him, and not to turn away from your own flesh and blood?.

Joel 2: 12Even now,” declares the LORD, “return to me with all your heart, with fasting and weeping and mourning.” 13 Rend your heart and not your garments. Return to the LORD your God, for he is gracious and compassionate, slow to anger and abounding in love, and he relents from sending calamity. 14 Who knows? He may turn and have pity and leave behind a blessing

21 thoughts on “A Call to Fast for Kate

  1. Hey Aaron. I’ve been following the story of your daughter for about a month now. I stumbled across it one day, and God has put her on my heart every so often. I will be joining you guys in prayer for healing, and a clean scan this afternoon. I’ve posted a couple blogs on Kate’s story on my website, which should be linked to my name. If you don’t mind, I would like to also share your advice on fasting on that blog, as it’s clarified a few things for me in that area.

    I pray the scans are clean, and that Christ in glorified. May her kidneys and her hearing, as well as the rest of her body, not be adversely affected from the Chemo. In the name of Jesus, Amen!

  2. I have been praying for Matt Chandler & family and his tweets had me praying for precious Kate for a couple weeks now. You can count on me. I’ve been doing the Daniel fast as I support raise as a full-time missionary w/ e3Partners Ministry. In this fast as I’ve been crying out for God’s provision, I have also been praying for Kate’s & Matt’s healing as well as your families’ strength, peace & faith.
    Much love to you all in our Lord, Veronica Lucio, e3 Partners

  3. I just lifted sweet Kate, with your specific requests up to our Father! May she find complete healing & Christ’s name be proclaimed & glorified!! You are all very brave & I pray that He continues to give you strength. Blessings ~

  4. Joining you in prayer and fasting. Much love to Kate and your family. May God heal your precious daughter completely, and may we know in our hearts how GLORIOUS He is!

  5. I’m here in Christ name interceding and praying for your daughter and no matter what Christ Jesus is being exalted and I thank u family in Christ bc of ur strength that encourages me and. Others to seek a God daily no matter the trials we go through. God bless u all. Grace and peace

  6. Praying and on late notice…fasting the rest of the day on Kate’s behalf. I am currently re-reading Jentzen Franklin’s book FASTING. Awesome book. I read it last year but needed a reminder of the Power that fasting brings. Peace to all of you….

  7. I am storming the heavens with prayers for your precious Kate right now. I pray for NED, for guidance for all doctors involved in her care and for peace for your family. Prayers from Texas.

  8. I have been reading yours and your wife’s posts on the carebridge site since karen Kingsbury let her readers know about your plight. I have been faithfully praying for Kate to be cancer free. I love the precious testimony you have as you share this dark valley you are walking through but ever pointing to the light of Jesus Christ. Can’t wait to hear the results of Kate’s MRI today. May the God hold you close and give you a peace that defies understanding as you await the results. May God heal Kate completely of all her cnacer.

  9. i’m following your family on twitter. i would have liked my response to your call to have been visible to your family so that you would know that one more family is praying for yours…but i don’t think i did the #katemcrae thing right (i’m old and a twitter newbie). we’ve got you on our phone updates and are prayfully watching your story unfold and hope for a yes in all categories more than you know.

  10. My heart and soul are with you and your loving family…my prayers are with Kate…I am so sorry I cannot fast due to poor health…but be assured my heart and soul are with you and yours…my Blessings to Kate for a full and renewing recovery. JAC

  11. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

Leave a Reply

