How are you doing what you are doing today?

What are you doing today? What are you planning to do? These are familiar questions to us and most of us usually have some kind of idea or purpose to what we are doing. However, has anyone ever asked you, “How are you doing what you are doing today?” I think this is a better question to ask because unlike the answer to the first question, we always have a choice in ‘how’ we will do things. We can’t always choose what we will do, we have circumstances and situations beyond our control but we can always choose the attitude behind ‘how we do’ things.

I love the 3rd chapter of Colossians. In this passage Paul is writing to followers of Christ, encouraging a lifestyle of holiness and worship. He begins by saying things like this: since you have been raised with Christ…set your hearts on things above (v1), set you minds on things above (v2), put to death whatever belongs to your earthly nature (v5), clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness…(v12), let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts (v15). All of this is a set-up for Paul’s ultimate challenge…

Colossians 3: 17And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

My favorite word in this verse is the word ‘whatever’. A careful study of this word in the original language reveals that this word literally means…’whatever’. Amazing, huh? Whatever you do means in everything you do, every action, every word. No part of our life is outside this call to live every moment for Jesus Christ in gratitude to God our Father. This means that every second of life is an opportunity for worship, a chance to glorify God. Every situation of our life is full of purpose and possibility to honor God, not just by doing the right thing, but by doing everything with the right attitude, in the right spirit (one of thankfulness, faith, love, etc…)

Some may read this and think, easy to say, hard to do with what is going on in my life. I think this thought is right on, but it doesn’t even begin to go far enough. It’s not just hard to do ‘everything’ as worship it is… impossible. Impossible on our own that is, but through God’s strength and Christ’s resurrection power every part of our life can be transformed into a moment of worship. This is why verse 17 isn’t verse 1, there is a process to Paul’s challenge, and as we stay in this process, glorious things happen!

Here is a simple challenge for those of us attempting to follow Christ today. Let’s cultivate a heart of gratitude to God today by taking time to thank him for everything, and I mean everything. Maybe you could set aside a block of time in the morning, or during lunch, but more practically what if as we are doing whatever we do today let’s constantly thank God, the giver of all good things, for His blessings.

One thought on “How are you doing what you are doing today?

  1. I understand what your saying Aaron. I asked God every day during my son’s illness to fill me with more grace; to show me what He wanted me to learn through all this heartache; to let me see His purpose for my life through this cituation so I could comfort others. I experienced first hand God carrying me when I couldn’t carry myself! I can never really explain how this happened but, at my son’s funeral, I had such peace that I couldn’t even cry. I felt like someones arms were around me holding me. That evening after it was all over, I cried all night. But I knew my son was in heaven!! What joy my heart felt!! What precious joy and peace await us after this earthly body has taken on immortallity! I tell the Lord constantly to tell Eddie hello for me and I will see him again one day. I am rejoicing daily in God’s presence in prayer. Oh to be able to talk to my best friend Jesus every day!!! What a priviledge!! God bless and take care. Jesus is still on the throne!!!!

Leave a Reply

