Who Cares???

Who cares? Do you care?

I care… well sometimes I do. I probably don’t care as much as I think I do, or as much as I ‘should’. I want to care, I want to help, I want to love! The problem is…me!

In the past year my family has encountered some of the most caring people we have ever met, and then, on the other hand, we have also been around ‘the others’.

People who care are an amazing set of individuals, who I am incredibly grateful for and challenged by. People who care demonstrate love and compassion, empathy, selflessness, and a host of other traits that meet the deep needs of the hurting and truly bear each others burdens.

‘The others’ are also an interesting group, some of these don’t care and don’t even care that they don’t care, and still others think they care but really their care is only towards their own well-being, which I don’t think fits the definition of what I am talking about.

If there is anything I have learned about myself in the past year it is that on most days I fit in better with ‘the others’ than with the people who care. Honestly, I hate this about myself and something has to change. For years, I have often been admonished to care, by statements such as…

-People don’t care how much you know, until they know how much you care!

-Galatians 6:2Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.

So what’s my problem? That’s the wrong question, the more proper question is what are my problems, there are a lot of them. However, here is I think, the root of the problem. I don’t care, because I am not receiving the care I need. Too often, I look to lesser things to meet my ultimate needs and the desires of my heart. These lesser things bring false fulfillment and leave me longing for more and looking to other sources. All the while, I have a gracious and powerful Father who offers me this…

1 Peter 5:6 Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, 7 casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

Only when I humbly place my cares in God’s mighty hands, and receive his love am I fully prepared to show others the care they so desperately need. So my conclusion has to be this…Remember ‘the others’, the ones that don’t seem to care, they are not living in or experiencing the unfailing love of God. They are not being filled with his mercy and compassion, for if they were they couldn’t help but to love people radically and care selflessly for the hurting.

The solution: Humble yourself by looking to Jesus, the one whose eyes are full of compassion and hands are mighty to save, or to just give you a hug. Take all of your personal cares, anxiety, worries and everyday give them to Jesus. Why? The answer to why, is the answer to my initial question…Who cares? Jesus cares! Jesus cares and is the spring of life and love, the God of compassion and our example of sacrificial, redeeming love.

9 thoughts on “Who Cares???

  1. Speechless. So many times life comes to a standstill. The mind tunes out everything around us. Dulls it. It’s just out of our reach. But, we need it. We don’t need to forget about us. Or our other family members. The focus has been on your baby. Where it should be. But, don’t forget your own mental health. Having to give it up every day over & over is what God wants from us. So simple, but so hard! I have not been in your shoes. I can only speak from my heart after following you around on twitter for the past 10 months. Wow. 10 months! A family I have grown to love. A strength of family I have grown to love. A strength & a love only a mighty God could bring to be. From across the miles. Support & love. From unknown faces. Because of God. He is the One who brings us together & to our knees. For you, for Kate, for Holly, for Olivia, and for Will. Don’t lose yourself in this.

  2. This touches home within me. I find myself overcaring. While that sounds kind a lot of time its in hope someone will care for me to. Growing up when someone was nice there was usually an ulterior motive learning to trust is my main problem. Learning to let go and stop caring is another. Sometimes I imagine I suffocate others by caring. I have turned to the Lord and he as always hears me.

  3. I can understand & relate to exactly what you are saying. Before my little one got diagnosed with arthritis I was very depressed. I couldn’t see past that… I was very selfish & couldn’t really care about others until I myself was healed. Now I seem to care too much (feast or famine!) but I think it’s a gift. Sometimes it’s too much, but I strive to find balance. You will get to where you want to be once you are in a position to be able to focus on something other than your crises. I think it must be hard to care for others when you yourself have so much to worry about. Once you are brought through your own crisis I think you’ll be better prepared to care for others. Any which way your whole family is so blessed by so much love that He has directed your way.

  4. I so agree with your words that if we want to truly have a caring attitude then we need to draw close to The One who can meet all our needs – I think our sense of caring for others comes from the gratitude we feel for receiving His care – but at the same time I want to say – don’t beat yourself up – there’s different seasons in life and as hard as it is to receive caring from others sometimes, I praise the Lord that he has placed so many people in your lives to provided this care – your time to give to others will come [and preceded this season as well, I’m sure.] – Still praying or your sweet family – J

  5. when asked the greatest command, Jesus echoed deuteronomy 6, that we should love God with all our heart, soul, and mind. the second is to love our neighbor. i’m sad to say that for the majority of my life in ministry, until the last two years or so, i had the two switched.

    when we desire to love others more than we love God — when we seek to care for others, before being cared for by God — we make a big mess of the whole thing. good post. thanks.

  6. A good reminder for me to get re-connected to the ultimate source of love and compassion. My Sofia turns 6 tomorrow, a year since the day… We have prayed daily for your Kate and family and have been inspired by your walk with Him. 29 June will always be a significant day for both our families and I hope in 50 years time, a celebration of how long Kate has been cancer free.

Leave a Reply

