Hi, My Name is Aaron and I’m a Pastor

Confession is good for the soul, right? Well then, the truth is, I must confess, I am a pastor. I know, sometimes I can’t believe it either but the reality is, I have been in this condition for nearly 13 years. It’s not all bad I must admit, but there is a dark and dangerous side. Jesus warned my type of this trouble saying…

Matthew 7: 21“Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. 22Many will say to me on that day, ‘Lord, Lord, did we not prophesy in your name, and in your name drive out demons and perform many miracles?’ 23Then I will tell them plainly, ‘I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers!’

The great danger in my profession lies in looking to your performance as a barometer of faith instead of your personal intimacy with Christ. Being a ‘pastor’ fights to become my identity, a lens through which I see myself and frankly, others. It’s almost as if I need a title to be important, like preaching a sermon, or helping someone in need finally makes me acceptable/lovable. However, Jesus plainly says our spiritual activity will never save, and any trust in this type of activity will lead us astray. The Apostle Paul agrees saying…

Eph. 2: 8For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9not by works, so that no one can boast.

Although I may try, I can never boast in my works. I may try to build an identity on my abilities, position in life, or works, even good ones. However, fundamentally this is not who I am, or who I want to be. I desperately need to be found in Christ, rescued by HIS grace, to a place where I can boast, but only in Jesus. I get so tired of hearing about people like me, ‘pastors’, who from either deep discouragement or blinding success abandon their acceptance of God’s lavish grace in their needy life. These ‘pastors’ need to either get the gospel of God’s grace or get a new job! I need to do the same.

I need the daily reminder of my dependence and God’s provision. I need to re-position myself to where I belong, in Christ…

2 Cor. 5: 17Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come!

3 thoughts on “Hi, My Name is Aaron and I’m a Pastor

  1. I am about to hand over a South African ministry to the poor that I founded and spent 5 years growing. It started off tiny and God has blessed it and grown it. I am struggling with the concept of ‘just being’ now. My importance and identity was so tied up in the charity, wrong I know but true. I need to re-adjust and redefine who I am in Christ and my place in it all. Your post has given me food for thought!

  2. How very true. And I’m not a Pastor. But I can see what you mean.

    I saw a comment on here about your brother in law, and I’m so sorry for whatever happened. Many prayers!

Leave a Reply

