Disagreement + Disrespect = Disobedience

Disagreement + Disrespect = Disobedience

I am not completely certain that this formula is ALWAYS true but it seems to me that it is almost ALWAYS ALWAYS true. This morning as I flipped news channels I quickly started becoming sick of watching this pastor in Florida talk about burning Quran’s.

I would love to know how this pastor believes that God told him and his ‘church’ to hold a “Burn the Quran Day’. Even more, I would love to know how this pastor thinks he will hear God tell him to cancel the festivities, since this is the only way he will dissuaded from going forward.

There seems to be an absolute unwillingness on this mans part to listen to counsel of others, whether that comes from government, military, and even the evangelical community at large. This man and his church have positioned themselves as renegades, faithful only to their private interpretation of how things should go.

This doesn’t seem to me to be the way of Jesus. Jesus commands us to love our enemies, check this out…
Matthew 5:43“You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ 44But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you, 45that you may be sons of your Father in heaven. He causes his sun to rise on the evil and the good, and sends rain on the righteous and the unrighteous. 46If you love those who love you, what reward will you get? Are not even the tax collectors doing that? 47And if you greet only your brothers, what are you doing more than others? Do not even pagans do that? 48Be perfect, therefore, as your heavenly Father is perfect.

This also doesn’t seem to be the way Paul followed Christ’s teachings either…
1 Corinthians 5:12What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? Are you not to judge those inside? 13God will judge those outside…

I am not saying that we should not disagree with things contrary to the gospel of Jesus Christ, we should always stand on truth. However, I am saying that if our standing for truth requires that we disrespect others, their beliefs, and things that they deem holy, then we are not only behaving rude we are actually rebelling against Jesus who calls us to reach out in love.

I would love to know your thoughts on this…Agree or disgree??? (just be nice!)

22 thoughts on “Disagreement + Disrespect = Disobedience

  1. I too was stunned when I heard he planned to proceed with the burning. My concern is the repercussions that will occur due the actions of one who seems to not care. I am concerned that pride is now going forward since they are in the media. I truly hope lives will not be lost because of the stubbornness and determination to prove himself right. This truly is a very sad situation.

  2. I too am amazed this will probably happen.

    I am struck, though, by the notion that we must not forget God in all of this. God is not losing control because this is happening – the lead up to it and/or the actual event. No, He’s not. I pray that the world wide media exposure of this event will elevate discussion and focus to who God really is – not so much to the division of people.

    It might be radical, I know. But God is radical.

    I pray for all involved here.

    Thank you for posting, Aaron.
    (Bless you and your family too)

  3. I have been so troubled by this pastor’s personal views. I can’t for a minute believe they come from God. We have a lot to learn about how to treat our enemies, our Muslim friends especially. How can we witness to them about Jesus’ love for them when they see us as hateful and arrogant. He is just giving the fanatical terrorists more power and fueling the rage and ideology of many. I pray for the peace of this country and all others in which Muslims and Christians live together. I pray that no one, Muslim, one who looks like he/she is Muslim, soldier or other “white” person does not come to harm because of this. I fear that it is already happening. May Christ’s Shalom reign!!!

  4. While I agree that, for instance, the Imam in NYC has the “right” to put that mosque near Ground Zero, “the” right does not equal “is” right.
    This preacher in Florida? Freedom of religion does not equal freedom to disrespect religion. Nowhere does it say, in the Constitution OR in his faith that it is “right” to burn the Q’uran. I am Roman Catholic. While I do have deep objections to some of the more extreme members of Islam, I do NOT support disrespecting the large number of Islamic believers by burning their Q’uran. This man is 150% WRONG. 500% WRONG!

  5. I agree. When I heard all I thought about was how disrespectful to the people that believe in the Quran and how does this help anything? Will watching their book burn make them run to Jesus? All it will do is hurt them. Paul went to Athens and did not convince people by hurting them or disrespecting their gods. Instead he used their own to introduce Jesus. (Acts 17:22-34) This should be our example. We should be learning how to speak to people of different faiths and how to present Jesus to them.

  6. I agree with you. My husband and I wonder the same thing. How can a person say God told them to do something so disrespectful. We are called to love. Not love their religion I think you said it well we are to stand up for truth but not by disrespecting a person or their beliefs. My concern is how can we expect Muslims to love us and respect us if we don’t do the same for them…

  7. I couldn’t agree more with you aaron. In fact I have some friends that are former muslims and they tell me there is several things in the quran that can lead them to Christ.

  8. This “man” is only looking for his 15 minutes of infamy. It’s very sad he’s going about getting it this way. He just held a press conference ( more attention ) because his internet provider shut him down.

    I believe he heard a voice, but it wasn’t God’s. A little schizophrenia perhaps?

  9. I also agree with you Aaron. It just gives the press another chance to attack Christianity as a whole. The actions of few are always attributed to us all. I also worry about reprecussions from extremists.

  10. I, wholeheartedly, agree with you Aaron. I can’t believe that this man could be so hateful to think that in this case, “Jesus would have him burn this book.” Jesus never burned anything! It is beyond understanding how anyone could think that this is right!

  11. I know this mentality all too well.

    My former church, which I left because of this line of thinking, was the same way. The “My Way or the Highway” mentality leads many well meaning Christians to ignore all counsel that disagrees with their own thinking and results in a very un-Christlike lack of love not only towards their enemies, but those who would be their friends as well.

  12. The disciples misunderstood Jesus at first. They thought he would bring His kingdom to earth in their time. I believe this man truly has misunderstood that only God is the true Judge. He will judge the world in the end. He wants us to be hot for Him, not zealots. If you love me you will keep my commandments. The first love the Lord with all you heart, mind and strength and the second love your neighbor as yourself.

  13. Aaron, I agree with the argument you’ve made here, especially with the verses you’ve used to support your point. However, terrorists continue to reiterate that they are following the teachings of Mohammed, that they are the true Muslims, and that their American brethren are nothing more than the infidel, as capitalist pigs who worship at the throne of American greed. This is why they had no problem attacking the World Trade Centers, knowing that Muslims were also inside, not as martyrs, but as infidel sacrifices.

    Of course the Bible could be misinterpreted by the masses and have terrorism carried out in its name by using the same twisted logic that Muslim radicals are using with the Koran and their terrorist acts. The difference is that this is not happening, and Muslim radicals are on the rise, with hardly the slightest outcry from peace loving Muslims. So we have to ask ourselves – is the Koran being misinterpreted by the radicals…or by us? Does this pastor have the right to burn them? Yes. Is it wise? That depends. Are we going to be afraid to exercise our rights because we’re afraid of our enemy? You can already see the death threats, proposed violence and hatred from Islam regarding this event, illustrating to the world that the threat of radical Islam is real, present and in many cases, anything but a “religion of peace.” I think the same rationale of this event should be applied to the mosque building – do they have the right? Yes. But just because you have the right doesn’t mean it’s right.

  14. Praying for you, your family, kate… holly, will, olivia…
    wow. you’ve got to feel like ‘a modern day Job’ at times like these. hmm. just wondering. Thank you for the awesome insight. your thoughts are mine – gently spoken. Keep in the shadow of the cross, brother ~ I’ll meet you there. Together, we will praise him – even in the storm. zoesinger

  15. He’s using one piece of God’s amazing puzzle, to apply to what he believes is to be the case. It’s hypocrisy. He’s not recognizing the entire puzzle, nor is he speaking of it. It’s not me to say what else he believes in, because I am not him. It is sad when you see people applying one item of God’s word, to their own needs, or rather wants.

    I know we all sin, and thanks to the fact that we are not in this Pastor’s limelight, we don’t have to worry about the media promoting our sins, but there is no degree of sin, right?

    Hope you enjoyed your wonderful outing with your family.

Leave a Reply

