A Day of Prayer & Fasting for Kate

I have never felt so helpless in my whole life!

Since getting the results on Tuesday our lives have seemed to weave in and out of reality, moments of relaxation quickly upended by the reminders of what Kate is facing. Our only hope this week has been our Creator God and his rescuing love found in Jesus Christ. Prayer has been passionate and desperate, I guess it always should be.

Now is a time for faith and prayer, and we are so deeply grateful that we have a host of warriors battling along with us in prayer. Now is an urgent time, so I have a request. If you are willing and if you are able, would you please consider fasting and praying with us tomorrow Monday February 7th, 2011.

Throughout Scripture fasting plays a critical role in many God ordained events:
-Moses fasted for intimate fellowship with God Exodus 34:28
-David fasted for his sick child 2 Samuel 12:16
-Ezra called a fast for humility and to ask for God’s provisions Ezra 8:21-23
-Daniel fasted to discern God’s will & seek God’s counsel Daniel 10:2-3
-Jesus fasted before beginning his public ministry Matthew 4:2
-Church leaders in Antioch fasted for God’s divine help Acts 13:3
-Paul fasted as servant of God for those he served 2 Corinthians 6:5

Here are a few requests for those who will partner with us:

For Healing… for Kate’s complete healing from top of her head to her toes
Psalm 107: 19 Then they cried to the LORD in their trouble, and he saved them from their distress. 20 He sent forth his word and healed them; he rescued them from the grave.

For Wisdom… for Holly and I, for the doctors, and people we consult with
Colossians 1:9 For this reason, since the day we heard about you, we have not stopped praying for you and asking God to fill you with the knowledge of his will through all spiritual wisdom and understanding.

For Jesus to be Glorified for Christ to be seen as POWERFUL & to be praised
John 11:4 Jesus said, ‘This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory, so that, God’s Son may be glorified through it.’

Again, I want to thank the countless people who have prayed and encouraged us for some time. We would be honored if some of you could join us in this day of seeking God in prayer and fasting. Please pass this along and ask others. If you need some guidance in fasting, I have found this site to be helpful…
Awake21 particularly the  ‘Prayer, Fasting, and Personal Devotion Guide’

121 thoughts on “A Day of Prayer & Fasting for Kate

  1. Our God is an awesome God!

    While I cannot completely understand what you are going through, our son Andrew is seven years old and has been in the hospital since Thursday morning after having a seizure. He has also had an MRI yesterday and is currently undergoing a 24-72 hour EEG observation.

    We are praying for Kate, as we are praying for Andrew and we will ask those praying for Andrew to add Kate to their prayers too!

    God bless!

    Doug & Wendi Holland, Sacramento CA

    • Doug & Wendi,

      I will be in prayer for Andrew as I pray for Kate tomorrow.

      My prayer is not only for the health of these sweet children but that our all-powerful God would do for each of them “immeasurably more” than we can ask or think!

      Much love,
      Kristin
      Greenville, SC

      • Jesus our Lord will never leave or forsake us. He loves Kate and laid his life down for us. He’s the only one who can give us that promise. This is a burden that Jesus can bear and if He is for us then who can be against us. I’m praying with your family to the God who can perform miracles and I pray for peace against the paltry tricks of the devil. Jesus is not deceived and when the devil spoke, Jesus had the answer ready. He did it for us so we also can enjoy that rightful relationship of a child to his Abba father.

  2. My girls & I have been praying for your family & Kate since just a few days after you posted your video of Kate’s story on youtube when she was first diagnosed. They ask me daily how Kate is. They were very said when I told them news of her recent scan. My 9 yr old had an MRI on Monday & an EEG on Wednesday, to rule out tumors & seizures for her “tics”. She’s since been diagnosed with Tourette’s Syndrome. She told me she thought about Kate during her MRI. I will be fasting & praying with you all.

  3. I’ve been following your story and praying for you all for some time. Tomorrow won’t be different.

    To God be the glory!

    Praying with faith.

  4. I came across your post online and wanted to let you know our prayers are with you. I would be honored to fast for Kate, and anxiously await to hear of how God moves on your behalf. I have a friend Scott Mayberry who lives in Charlotte, North Carolina. His son Noah has been fighting for some time now and I would appreciate if you would include him in your prayers as well.
    Proverbs 4:20-22 says, My son, attend to my words; incline thine ear unto my sayings. Let them not depart from thine eyes; keep them in the midst of thine heart. For they are life to those that find them, and health to all their flesh.
    Psalm 107:20 – He sent his word, and healed them, and delivered them from their destructions. (KJV)
    20 … He sent out His word, and it healed, and from their corruptions it freed! (Fenton)
    Proverbs 4:22 – For they (His Words) are life unto those that find them, and health to all their flesh. (KJV)
    Psalm 30:2 – O Lord my God, I cried unto thee, and thou hast healed me. (KJV)
    Mark 11:24 – Therefore I say unto you, What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them. (KJV)
    Matthew 8:2-3 – And, behold, there came a leper and worshipped him, saying, Lord, if thou wilt, thou canst make me clean. And Jesus put forth his hand, and touched him, saying, I will; be thou clean. And immediately his leprosy was cleansed. (KJV)

  5. Ephesians 3:20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us…

    • Praying for Kate tomorrow! Weeping may endure for a night, but joy cometh in the morning. The Lord shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in. He giveth his beloved sleep. The Lord is thy keeper; the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand. Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed ; for I am thy God.

  6. Have followed some of your journey in the last few days through Tam Hodge’s posts and would be honored to partner with you all in prayer and fasting for Kate’s healing.

    One of the many things I love about our God is that His very name is Jehovah Rappah–God of healing–and He is stronger and mightier than any sickness in this world. Kate is already victorious in Him; hallelujah.

  7. Please go to http://www.awmi.net/home Andrew Wommack has awesome teachings about how we already have the annointing from Jesus to lay hands on the sick and they will WILL recover. Mark 16:18 All Andrew Wommack’s teachings are 100% free and downloadable. Or you can read his articles. God Bless your family. I will be in prayer that you and your family “plug-into” God’s amazing power!

  8. We are never alone when we trust the Lord! Matthew 6:6 When you pray, go to your inner room, close the door, and pray to your Father in secret. Your Father, who sees in secret, will answer you. Aaron, Holly, Kate , you are never alone. No truth is more important than this: that God is always with us. He imparted his own Spirit to us at the moment of our conception, and he has been with us ever since, closer to us than we are to ourselves. He has never ceased to sustain us with his life-giving Spirit. And he has never ceased to look upon us with a Father’s love. Pray always, tomorrow, so much more so. You are in my heart.

  9. I am willing and able to join you tomorrow to uplift Kate and your family before our Precious Heavenly Father.
    He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” Psalm 91:1-2

  10. Honored and excited to join in tomorrow’s fast for Kate. Have changed my iPhone wallpaper to the image tweeted by @PrayforKate as a reminder to hold her constantly before the throne of our great God for Whom all things are possible.

    Much love,
    Kristin
    Greenville, SC

  11. Pingback: PRAYFORKATE DESKTOP BACKGROUND | PROMISE TANGEMAN ART & DESIGN

  12. Pingback: Top Posts — WordPress.com

  13. Honored and blessed to join you all in fasting and praying specifically for Kate and your family. His Word does not return void and there are hundreds pouring it out on your behalf… He is FAITHFUL. Much love.

  14. Although I’m unable to fast from food, as I’m 39weeks pregnant. . .know I will be on my knees more than ever and will choose to fast from something else.

  15. ON behalf of many !!!! Gray Matter Brain Buddies:

    we are lifting Kate and your family to Jesus and asking for him to supply a miracle. We are here for you and will cry out to the Father for his divine intervention. much love,

  16. My sisters in Christ and I have been praying for Kate and your family since we read about her on Karen Kingsbury’s site. I cannot fast due to a medical condition from food…but will fast from my laptop for 24 hours.
    Know that we are praying…and will continue to pray that this monster will be defeated.

  17. Ladies in the Chandler/Gilbert/Tempe/Mesa area who are participating in prayers and fasting and want to get together tomorrow for strength in numbers…let’s meet! Almighty God, we bow before you in worship. We are in awe before you; we cover our faces before your glory. Yet you are not a stern God to be feared, but a Father to be loved. And so tomorrow, especially we will sing out joyfully a song of praise and of hope for lil Kate.

  18. Oh gosh Aaron my heart is absolutely breaking for you guys. I can’t imagine how helpless you feel cause as your friends we feel so incredibly helpless for you…we will certainly join you for prayer & fasting for Kate & we will ask others to do the same. We love you guys & miss you and are here always, don’t hesitate to call or text!!!

  19. I will be fasting and Praying for Kate… Praying for your entire Family…That Abba Daddy drenches you in HIS Peace that passes ALL understanding.. He IS the Great Physician and OUR Healer !!! WE are promised…IF two agree as touching anything…It SHALL be done by our Father !!!

  20. Just this morning I was reminded of a story of a young man visiting Mother Theresa. He asked her to pray for him and she asked him “For what shall I pray?” He replied. “Clarity. Pray for the Lord to give me clarity.” To which she refused. She said, “The last thing you are holding onto is clarity. Instead I shall pray for the Lord to afford you opportunities for faith. Yes, Faith is what you need.”
    I can’t help but pray for clarity on your and Kate’s behalf. He knows that you are living and breathing faith. It’s time for clarity and healing.
    I’m fasting with you tomorrow. In the words of one of my favorite authors, Samuel Logan Brengle, I’m going to “Enter the High Kings throne room and approach His throne, not in fear because of His awesome greatness. Instead, I approach with confidence because He has shown me time and again that I am His child and He loves me. I’ll climb up into His lap and ask Him with expectancy… because He loves to give His children the wishes of their heart when He sees no harm in answering their request.” I know she’s already there, but Kate will most definitely be on His mind tomorrow.

  21. Our family will join in praying for Kate tomorrow and more. We were forwarded this request by a friend of ours. There is no safer place to be than in His everlasting arms. We trust you into His care. We pray that no matter the circumstances around that you will find true REST in Him.

  22. I will be praying and fasting with your family tomorrow. I believe in a big God, and I shall petition the gates of Heaven with prayer requests just as His Word instructs that we do.

  23. Oh dear…..I can not for a moment fathom what you and Holly are going through. We are strangers yet you have all filled my thoughts and prayers for many months.

    I will be fasting, praying , thinking about sweet Kate….and waiting to hear about how things go tomorrow. You are never alone! GOD is with you.

    Blessings and love,
    Shelley

  24. sweet friends, we are praying over your family and for Kate’s healing. I know there are no words that could be said here to alleviate the pain you have experienced, just know that through this God is working everything for the good of those who love Him and are called according to His purpose. Our hearts break with yours, but through Christ we look forward to a day of ultimate healing. Sending love and unceasing prayers from Northeast Missouri!

  25. i will be praying for kate…Jesus please bring complete healing touch to this family in a new and awesome way!! may Kate bring glory and honor to the Healer!! i posted this on my Facebook account asking for prayer and fasting and will post again tmr morning. love you guys.

  26. My life is touched by your story. Tuesday is the one year anniversary of my mother’s passing and I have felt the need to do something besides watch the clock and relive the days surrounding this time. “Somehow” I ended up here and on Kate’s other site. I will be honored to pray for Kate, your family and her doctor’s tomorrow and the days to follow.

  27. Jesus said, “Again, I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven.” Matt. 18:19.
    Praying and fasting tomorrow, agreeing by faith it will be on earth as it is in heaven for precious Kate.

  28. Eph. 3:20!! I know it full well!!

    I have never responded to your blog but I do follow Holly with the caringbridge site and have for about a year. My heart was just broken for your family in your recent news. Myself and a couple of my neighbors over here in Northwest Indiana all follow your family (through Holly)and we all called each other when the news came through. We are praying for you and praying for a complete miracle. As a 39 year old mother of 4 who had an astrocytoma in the left temperal lobe when I was 14 I know the uncertainty of every MRI and I still live it every year when I have my check-ups. Its very humbling to say the least. I never knew if I would be able to have children after so much radiation as a little girl so my husband and I knew that going into things. After 6 years of trying to conceive a child we adopted a little baby boy and then 4 years later a little baby girl. God is so good! Little did we know the ways in which he would bless us. After 10 years of marriage the Lord opened my womb and we had a little girl. 1 year later we had a little boy. We never dreamed of having a full family of 4 children. I guess I say this all because our God is so mighty and he can do things we never dreamed of. He can heal Kate and I will be praying for that tomorrow all day as I fast with all the people who love your family and your little Kate. She is just so precious and I have never even met her. Count me in as a prayer warrior!

  29. Sweet Kate and her story was brought to my attention just a few weeks ago via facebook. While I see stories of tragedy day after day, her story especially touched my heart. I have cried and I have prayed everyday for the healing of your sweet little girl and peace for all of you. I will join you all tomorrow in the fast and I will agree with you for this miracle. Your strength, faith, and perseverance has restored my faith that has been waning in the past years. Thank you.

  30. My family and I have been and will continue to pray for your family and Kate’s health and well being and for God’s favor in her life. I have been following your Caringbridge page and will continue to follow and pray for you, from Salem, NH!

  31. Hi Aaron and Holly,
    It is Katie, Kate’s speech path from PCH when she was in PICU. I have been following Kate’s journey since I found her on CaringBridge. I also have a cousin with incureable lung cancer who is on CaringBridge. Anyways, I have been praying continually for Kate, that God, for the sake if his name, would heal Kate completely. I will be fasting for her tomorrow. Please tell Holly hi for me.

  32. Jesus said, “Again, I tell you that if two of you on earth agree about anything you ask for, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven.” Matt. 18:19.
    Praying and fasting tomorrow, for precious Kate.

  33. My friend Rebecca asked me to pray for Kate when my husband Jon was diagnosed w/a brain tumor in May 09. I pray for all if you often and will join you tomorrow for sure. Our God is able.

  34. We are praying for your family! Thank you for your honesty and raw faith through this time. May every single moment of your family’s struggle be redeemed for the glory of God in some way, even if we cannot see it now.

  35. The Ludrick family from The Woodlands, Tx will be joining you in prayer and fasting for precious Kate. We are honored to do this.

  36. Pingback: A Monday of Prayer | An Author's Orchard

  37. I found Kate when I was pregnant with our second daughter. We chose the name Kate and I was looking for the meaning. As she grew in me, I have followed your Kate growing and healing. Now, my Kate is almost nine months old and I still pray for both Kate’s. I pray for both our babies all the time. I pray God posts His guardian angels around them to keep them safe, healthy and peaceful. My heart hurts for your family, but God is so powerful, as you already know. It is my honor to serve your family and participate in prayer and fasting tomorrow. Peace be with you and you wait for God’s next path. Love, your sister in Christ

  38. I am unable to fast due to being pregnant but I will be faithfully praying through out the day. I have been praying for Kate almost since the beginning and have cried out many tears for your daughter and family, tomorrow will be no exception. May God answer our prayers.

  39. joining you tomorrow and will continue to cover kate and your family in prayers during this all. grace and peace to cover your whole family!

  40. I have just read through your Caring Bridge site and, as I said there, I have spent my morning in tears as I have read through your story and looked at your photos. Unfortuantely, it’s already after 10am on the 7th here in South Africa and I can’t take part in your fast today, but I will be saying so many prayers along with all those who do. God is listening! Wishing you the strength that only God can provide as you face this ordeal.

    With love,
    Susan

  41. I’m in.
    A lot of things I don’t understand……this being one of them. So I come back to the fundamental premise……FAITH!
    I believe GOD is bigger than this, and I believe He can heal Kate.
    I am praying and fasting today for that.
    Love, prayers, BELIEF in Atlanta,
    Joe Norman

  42. Aaron my family & I have followed Kate’s story from the beginning…found through the blog world. I will be fasting and praying for her and your whole family. Jerri R, WV
    Is 53:5 But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities; the chastisement
    for our peace was upon Him, and by His stripes we are healed!

  43. I have been praying for Kate since I first started reading the Caring Bridge. You all are in my thoughts and prayers every single day. May God wrap his arms around Kate and protect her.
    Sincerely,
    Allison

  44. I can’t food-fast, but I’m just gonna media-fast instead. Opens up a lot of time and urging reminders as well, to pray for you and your precious daughter. That Gods glory may be revealed and you get to spend a lifetime with Kate!

    love from Holland

  45. I just became aware of Kate’s illness as I was reading this morning. Though I’ve already had breakfast, I will be fasting and praying for your precious daughter. How precious she is to our Lord, too. Not only am I praying for a miracle in her body, but I am praying Eph. 3:14-19 for you and your wife. Take courage; He is still on His throne.

    Much love from Auburn, AL

  46. I have been following Kate through Caringbridge since July 2009 – I feel I know your family now. I visited you all at PCH in Phx before returning to Denmark where I am currently living.

    My heart is crushed with your devistating news, but I too will continue to be praying for total healing of Kate!
    Since I live in Denmark, and just read this blog, I have missed most of the day of fasting, but will be lifting you all up in Prayer to our Lord Jesus Christ!
    May God Bless and HEAL Kate and your family…Aaron, Holly, Olivia, and Will.
    Love through Christ,
    Jennifer

  47. I’m so in. I am standing with you – hungry for food, and hungry for healing, trusting in the One Who Is, Always Was, and Always Will Be.
    “Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.” Romans 8:26

  48. I have never met you guys, but like so many others, my heart has been touched by your story. I will be fasting and praying for sweet kate in southern california today!

  49. I will be praying and fasting for your precious Kate.
    I pray that God will surround you with his love and peace. I pray that Kate will receive healing from her head to her toes. I pray that you all will receive healing from our heavenly Father. God Bless.

  50. We are praying diligently for Kate’s miraculous recovery! We know that God has the power to heal your sweet daughter. If there is anything that our family can do to help, please let us know; janettereeves@hotmail.com. We are just around the corner. :o)

  51. We’ve been praying for Kate daily since we learned of her via PrayforDaisy. The rest of this day will be devoted to fasting and prayer for Kate along the lines you have delineated in your request. Continual prayer after that.

  52. My children and I have been praying for Kate every night for some time now. I as unable to read your most recent messages until now and my heart is breaking for you. The kids and I will be going to church tonight to say prayers for Kate and your whole family. Each night they say “how is Kate?” as if she is a friend down the street. Our prayers are with you.

  53. Dear folks,
    I learned of your request from my pastor too late to begin the day with fasting so I will start tonight and extend for 24 hrs. I too have been in your place with a very sick child. God the Father heard my desperate prayer when he was near death and He rescued him. My son survived his illness. Now I will lend my voice to the chorus and apporach our Lord’s throne of mercy and grace with gratitude and an expectant heart, just like a samll child. I believe He will do something wonderful for your child and I will ask Him for just that. God bless your family!!

  54. As I am fasting and praying today for sweet Kate, I am gaining strength from the Lord but also from these posts! The world wide response is something to rejoice! I am not hungry today. I am in my quiet place, taking my eyes off of the things of this world and I am dedicated and giving Him all the glory. Luke 2:37 Anna worshipped night and day, fasting and praying at the Temple. Matthew 6:16-18 When you fast, do not look somber as the hypocrites do, for they disfigure their faces to show men they are fasting. I tell you the truth, they have received their reward in full. But when you fast, put oil on your head and wash your face, so that it will not be obvious to men that you are fasting, but only to your Father, who is unseen; and your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you. 1 John 5:14-15 This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. And if we know that he hears us, whatever we ask, we know that we have what we asked of him.

  55. My wife and I are joining in the prayer and fasting for Kate. May God be glorified and His power shine through Kate’s life.

  56. The prayer of the upright is his delight. Proverbs 15:8

    The Lord takes pleasure in those who fear him, in those who hope in his steadfast love. Psalm 147:11

    I will not turn away from doing good to them…I will rejoice in doing them good…with all my heart and with all my soul. Jeremiah 32:40-41

    Joining with you from ND. God bless you all!

  57. Praying and fasting for your sweet baby girl today.

    We have been given the power to lay our hands on the sick and command healing, to break away the darkness that brings with it disease.
    He took away our infirmities and all of our diseases.
    He raised His son from the dead. And that same power that he used to raise Yeshua back from the dead… that power lives within us. It radiates through our body. So we can, with full confidence, lay our hands on those who need healing.
    So from the top of her head to the tips of her toes I command healing.
    In the name of Yeshua Kate is healed.

  58. My daughter and I fasted for Kate yesterday. Kate and your family has remained in our prayers since I read your story. My you find peace and healing.

  59. I have followed your beautiful daughter’s story for awhile. Know that she has been lifted up in prayer in Ruston, Louisiana. Praying that the Lord gives you peace and comfort that only He can give.

    My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my Portion forever. Psalm 73:26

Leave a Reply

