Praying For Kate’s PET Scan

Kate is off at school this morning and we are nervously passing the time: praying, reading, cleaning (the house and ourselves), sipping coffee and praying some more. Her PET scan is scheduled to start today at 1:30pm MST. I will do the math for you, that is 3:30 Eastern/12:30 Pacific. Please pray that the scan would come back negative for any cancerous activity!

We will most likely not get results until our appointment tomorrow morning at 10am. So we will remain vigilant in prayer and placing our hope in the LORD. I have been meditating on the staggering verses in reference to  prayer found in Scripture, and begging God to grant the faith to pray & live accordingly…
1 John 5:14 This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to his will, he hears us. 15 And if we know that he hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.
(see also 1 John 3:21; James 5:16; Matthew 21:21)

Your encouraging words and prayers have been such a blessing from God. Thank you and please don’t stop! Many of you have shared verses of encouragement and I have spent much time looking over the Scriptures and praying them to God. Here are a number of the passages that we have been praying and continue to lift up to God today, we would love for you to join us in praying these for Kate…

Exodus 14: 13“Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. 14 The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

Isaiah 43: 1 But now, this is what the LORD says—he who created you, O Jacob,he who formed you, O Israel:”Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have summoned you by name; you are mine. 2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and when you pass through the rivers,they will not sweep over you. When you walk through the fire,you will not be burned; the flames will not set you ablaze.

Psalm 107: 19 Then they cried to the LORD in their trouble, and he saved them from their distress. 20 He sent forth his word and healed them; he rescued them from the grave.

Psalm 27: 13 I am still confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living. 14 Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.

Psalm 103:  1 Praise the LORD, O my soul; all my inmost being, praise his holy name. 2 Praise the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits— 3 who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, 4 who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, 5 who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

John 11: 4 When he heard this, Jesus said, “This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.”

Philippians 4:19 And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.

37 thoughts on “Praying For Kate’s PET Scan

  1. Praying over that sweet angel today, hopeful in the prayers that have gone up over her, standing steadfast with your family in the mercies of our Lord and Savior! Love each and every one of you!

  2. Our little family from Atlanta will be praying for your sweet Kate today. May He bring comfort to you and your family.
    Debra, John and Savannah

  3. We are joining, agreeing and believing, in prayer with you, for a GOOD REPORT! We have sent out again this moring, to our prayer partners, a CALL TO PRAY!..

  4. Hey Aaron,

    I can’t imagine what these few hours prior to the “scan” would be like for you and Holly (and your family). I wanted to share another scripture with you that actually the group, “The Museum”, used for one of their songs. Here is the verse and the YouTube video:

    “I lift my eyes to the hills, where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, The Maker of Heaven and Earth. He will not let your foot slip!” Ps 121:1-3

    Praying that God would give you His Peace as you go through these uncertain days!

    Craig

  5. My gosh…. I don’t even know your family …but I keep thinking of little Kate and looking at my clock EST… I pray for you all..

  6. I just finished reading your post. I will continue to fast and pray.
    God bless you both for being amazing parents. We will wait on God’s promise.
    I pray for Kate for your worried hearts. I check my emails constantly for updates. My heart feels so close to you both.

  7. Aaron,
    Praying in Denmark, My mom (and her prayer group) are praying in Fountain Hills, and I am hoping many of my Facebook friends are praying around the world! … Asking, Pleading, begging for Kate’s healing, Thanking God for his healing Power, praying for Peace for your family, and understanding for Will and Olivia

    “Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank Him for all He has done”.
    –Philippians 4:6, NLT

  8. We are praying desperately for a good scan today! We are putting our faith & trust into our LORD and asking that he heal precious Kate & give the McRae family the strength that they need to carry them through these hours as they await the test results. LORD we ask that you please protect this family. “The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.” -Exodus 14:14

  9. Please if you can share your prayers for my daughter Venessa, this mom would appreciate it. She just found out she needs her thyroid removed on February 25. Its the best of both evils. Its cancer but curable. The lump has enlarged to 2 centimeters. I thank God for his grace and mercy. May God’s peace and love rest in your hearts.

  10. I joined you yesterday fasting and praying for Kate and then last night I led a time of Soaking at a local church. I began by telling everyone that I had been praying for Kate and shared your story briefly. I told them I knew there were so many prayers for healing needed even in that one room and I asked that as we each soaked in Him we would hold these we were praying for in His healing light. As I prepared to go around and pray over each one there I was reminded of Exodus 14:13,14 – how we are to be still and He will fight for us. Then as I prayed I “saw” in my spirit a heavy mist of peace settle over us. I pray this mist of peace settles in over you and Holly and your family as you await the word on the PET scan. I pray you can be still as He fights for your precious Kate. Still praying and overwhelmed with His love and mercy. Expecting nothing short of a miracle.

  11. Praying in Ohio. Ever since I heard about kate from my bible study group I have been praying. May god bless little kate and your family and give u strength! For through the lord all things are possible!

  12. I have been following Holly’s Blog for many months now. I was drawn there by Kate’s lovely song by Audrey Assad. I sat and listened to it again and found such solace the words “God IS here” through it all God has Kate in His loving hands. I will continue to pray for like she was one of mine. May the peace of Christ which surpasses our own understanding be with you all today and tomorrow. Blessings!

  13. I am praying for your sweet girl. The prayer team from our church has been praying since you posted last week. We are standing with you and interceding on your behalf.

  14. I just came across your blog today. Praying that God will be merciful on Kate and save her from this horrible disease. That he will instead be her guide and lead her to do great things here on this earth. Praying for your family that you will be able to walk with her and help open her heart to His guidance. Peace be with you all!

  15. Praying for your beautiful girl! I have followed her journey from the start and am so sorry you guys are going through this again. I posted a link to her Caring Bridge page and your blog on my blog in hopes to spread the word for more prayers! May God comfort you and your family during this time…prayers for all of you!

  16. my eyes keep tearing up today thinking of you and holly with kate’s PET scan. praying so much for you all. “No, we know that in all these things we are more than conquerers through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither life nor death, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” -Romans 8:37-39.

  17. Been praying nonstop for your sweet little girl and your family. I just read yall’s story a few days ago and have been texting all my Christian friends and begging them to cry out to the Lord with me for her healing and comfort for her for your family.
    Rest in peace that it’s in His hands and he is ultimately working everything out for his glory and for our good.
    Kate is a blessing and her story has only drawn me closer to the Lord. May His name be lifted higher and His immeasurable power demonstrated through this.
    I’m praying boldly for miracles and healing! God bless your family. I’m so thankful for the hope that we have in Christ!!

  18. To the McRae family,
    I found out about your story through my friend Patti, and i want to tell you that i have you in my thoughts and prayers. Being a mum, or simply a citizen of this world compels me to uphold you to the One who loves you and your daughter more than anything imaginable.
    I had this song in my head yesterday, and when i typed it out lastnight, the words popped out at me, and were so significant to these days you face…..
    FILLED WITH GLORY by Michael Gungor
    As we all bow down
    As we all come casting off our crowns
    Would You hear our cry?
    We want to see you Glorified
    As we join as one
    As we live to let Your Kingdom come
    Father, through our lives
    We want to see You Glorified

    Glorify Your Name
    Glorify Your Name
    Glorify Your Name
    We want to see You Glorified
    …so, we “join as one” and i KNOW the Father “hears our cry”, we are all standing for and with you and with Kate.
    Love and prayers, Jeannette Taylor

  19. I have been following your family’s journey of faith for the past 6 months. All of you, especially Kate, are in my prayers. Bringing you before the throne of a Faithful Father. Psalm 29:11, Ephesians 3:16-20

  20. Continuing to pray for your sweet kate and your family as a whole, that God’s presence will be felt so strongly , and for her healing.

  21. Our prayers are with you… my heart is heavy for you. Please know you are thought and prayed for by my family and me. Keep the faith. With my love, Els Manning from Utah

  22. I came across this poem and thought of you guy’s, I will never stop praying, many of us will continue to stand in the gap.

    Light Shining Out of Darkness

    God moves in a mysterious way,
    His wonders to perform;
    He plants his footsteps in the sea,
    And rides upon the storm.

    Deep in unfathomable mines
    Of never failing skill,
    He treasures up his bright designs,
    And works his sovereign will.

    Ye fearful saints, fresh courage take,
    The clouds ye so much dread
    Are big with mercy, and shall break
    In blessings on your head.

    Judge not the LORD by feeble sense,
    But trust him for his grace;
    Behind a frowning providence,
    He hides a smiling face.

    His purposes will ripen fast,
    Unfolding ev’ry hour;
    The bud may have a bitter taste,
    But sweet will be the flow’r.

    Blind unbelief is sure to err,
    And scan his work in vain;
    GOD is his own interpreter,
    And he will make it plain.

    William Cowper (1772)

  23. God has put it upon my heart to ask you to Trust Him in all of this. He know’s you are hurting, and scared, and troubled. Trust Him. With ALL of this. Let Go, and Trust Him with all the results. In all circumstances. He is there to carry you.

  24. I am praying for you all. For peace, strength in your marriage and time. For wisdom, trust and thick skin. I pray that the warm waters and sandy beaches in Hawaii provide healing, comfort and many smiles for this family.

  25. Mcraes,
    You are being prayed over with fervent love and trust in a God who has already conquered everything in this world.

    Please, if your heart can bear to examine another alternative treatment, please view wwww.elonnamckibben.com. She had an “uncurable” brain tumor, began this alternative treatment, and was completely cured from her cancer. This was more than 20 years ago. She is not the only one…there are so very many people who are now doing what she is doing. I gain nothing financially whatsoever by informing you about her or what she did. I am only thinking of Kate.

    Please feel free to contact me with any questions.

  26. I keep looking at Kate’s beautiful face on my computer background, a constant reminder to lift her up in prayer. I am praying continuously for your precious daughter, you, Holly, and your family. Praying for healing in Jesus name!

  27. I am praying. I read this poem and thought it would encourage you.

    He Giveth More Grace

    He giveth more grace when the burdens grow greater,
    He sendeth more strength when the labors increase;
    To added affliction He addeth His mercy;
    To multiplied trials, His multiplied peace.

    When we have exhausted our store of endurance,
    When our strength has failed ere the day is half done,
    When we reach the end of our hoarded resources,
    Our Father’s full giving is only begun.

    Fear not that thy need shall exceed His provision,
    Our God ever yearns His resources to share;
    Lean hard on the arm everlasting, availing;
    The Father both thee and thy load will upbear.

    His love has no limit; His grace has no measure.
    His pow’r has no boundary known unto men;
    For out of His infinite riches in Jesus,
    He giveth, and giveth, and giveth again!

    Annie Johnson Flint

    2Corinthians 12:9 And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.

  28. Hebrews 4:16 Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may recieve mercy and find grace to help in the time of need.

  29. Aaron, I know that this is a dark time for you and your family, but be encouraged that this is not the Lord’s will for Kate. Jesus came to us so that we would have abundant life. It was Satan who came to kill, steal, and destroy. Jesus loves her and has amazing plans for her and wants to use her for His glory! There is NOTHING about this cancer that is glorifying Him.
    You and Holly are some of the most godly people I know. Please believe that Jesus wants Kate healed more than you do. Please continue to search scriptures about the Lord’s will for healing. He paid the price for her healing over 2,000 years ago on the cross. Isaiah 53:4 tells us that “He has borne our griefs (sicknesses, weknesses, and distresses) and carried our sorrows and pains (of punishment.” Verse 5 tells us that “by His stripes we are healed and made whole.” Put your faith in Him and begin to confess the Truth over her. Confess that she is healed and made whole in the name of Jesus. Command Satan to go away and take his hands off of her in the name of Jesus. No matter what it looks like, keep confessing truth over her. That she is healed. We walk by faith and not by sight. I will keep praying for you and your family. God bless all of you.

    Ashley (Kernersville, NC)

Leave a Reply

