Christ’s Love in Doubts & Darkness

George Matheson the author of this old hymn, renewed by Robbie Seay, provides a treasure of encouragement for those in the valley . Through a deep time of personal pain and doubt he wrote about his eclipse of faith. He endured a time so dark he, for a season, left the ministry. On top of the prior hymn, he also wrote a testimony of hope for believers who at times struggle with doubt, for those who…
-hear not the bells of Easter mourn
-tread the road to Emmaus but don’t meet the risen Christ
-stand on the mount of Galilee but hear no voice
-frequent the Upper Room but get no hint of his presence

Matheson says “My faith cannot walk by sight in hours like these. Lord what shall I do? Hast thou a remedy for the loss of light? Yes, my Father, Thou hast a gate where faith can enter without seeing where it goes. Its name is love.”

He powerfully continues, crying out, “If I cannot soar with Him in heaven, let me at least go back to finish his work on earth. Let me mourn with the Martha’s whose Lazarus’ I cannot raise. Let me pray with the paralytics whose weakness I cannot cure. Let me sing to the sightless whose eyes I cannot open. Let me lend to the lepers the touch of a brothers hand. Let me find for the fallen a chance to renew their days. Then shall my Easter morn shine again through all the clouds of night. Then shall I know the meaning of the words, ‘Blessed are they who have not seen and yet have believed.‘ ”

The love of Christ is sure and strong! Our only hope is found in Jesus and his redeeming love. He will not fail, He will not forget, He will not falter! So we too, with Matheson declare…

O love that will not let me go,
I rest my weary soul in Thee;
I give Thee back the life I owe,
That in Thine ocean depths its flow
May richer, fuller be

14 thoughts on “Christ’s Love in Doubts & Darkness

  1. Dear Aaron, what a powerful message you have just shared. It touches me deeply in the “silent valleys” of my own life and walk. The names of your precious family are on my desk as a daily reminder to pray and lift you to our Abba. We cling to the truth of His promise to never leave, abandon or forsake us – no matter what our feelings may try to dictate. Blessings and love! Your sister in Christ, Carole

  2. Dear Aaron, thanks for the inspiring and encouraging message you have written! I needed to hear those words right now, that the Lord loves me and gives me courage no matter how I may be feeling!

    We are praying for your whole family, especially sweet little Kate!

    Love & hugs,
    Lois

  3. Dear Aaron,

    We may never meet this side of eternity yet your family has been a part of mine for a while now. We continue to pray for Kate particularly and all of you additionally. If I could hug you via a comment post I would do so. I am not generally touchy-feely but consider yourself e-hugged. We will continue to lift you all up to the Lord of Heaven and Earth daily and in increasing measure.

    God greatly bless you and heal OUR Kate (excuse the possessiveness, we’ve adopted her in our hearts).

    By the merit of Christ, yours,

    Patrick, Lisa, Brandon, Troy, and Zachary in So. CA

  4. David Phelps sings “Oh Love that will not let me go” and it’s one of my favorites. Thanks for the wonderful thoughts. Praying for all of you and am so grateful that God gets the glory and worship. Don’t know you, but love you. And we’ll know fully when we’re all in heaven.

  5. Your words are a sweet sting to the soul. So profoundly moved by what you shared. Our family has been praying for your sweet Kate. We pray with groans to God on behalf of her and your family. Continuing in prayer.

  6. This brought me to tears…….. With all that you are going through in your personal life your unwavering faith is helping any who doubts the love Jesus has for us. May God continue to strengthen and nourish you through the Holy Spirit. You are so inspiring.

  7. Aaron,
    Thank you for sharing your heart with us! I had not thought of that verse (‘Blessed are they who have not seen and yet have believed) for not seeing the healing, and yet, that totally makes sense! I have thought of it in the concept of not seen Jesus – oh, my little finite mind! We see Jesus in so many ways, one is thru healing, but so so many don’t get to see the healing in the way we want it to happen, and yet to still believe ! Ahhh. Yes! Tho I will still be praying for Kate’s visible and miraculous physical healing, I will not become bitter towards my Father if He doesn’t oblige my wish! (our wish)

  8. Dear Aaron,

    My thoughts and prayers are with you and your wonderful family daily. You all are such an inspiring family, reaching out to others when you are dealing with so very much in your own life. I have learned so much from Holly and Kate. May the Lord be with you and your family.
    Allison Ross

  9. I have listened to the song a few times and can;t get through it without crying. It is a love that won’t let us go even when we are at our lowest. My heart aches for all you are going through. Even through your pain you give hope to others to hang on.

  10. Aaron,

    Dear brother in Christ. Thank you for your keen insight. Thank you for letting down your guard and revealing the human side that struggles with the reality that you are facing. I continue to lift you and your family up before the throne. Discouragement is the number one tool of the devil & he uses it so effectively. I’m so grateful that you & Holly continue to be poured out vessels of God’s Amazing GRACE – living life through the moments, one day at a time. Jesus will not abandon you. He will come to you. Sometimes his timing is all crazy (Lazarus in the tomb 4 days dead). But he does these strange things – all for HIS GLORY. Others are watching – while on others Jesus is calling – HE WILL NOT PASS YOU BY. Continue to keep at his feet in worship & praise – we will meet you there – in fasting & earnest intercession. Until He Comes ~ Singing … Oh LOVE THAT WILL NOT LET ME GO… zoesinger ~

  11. What an awesome message! Simply beautiful.

    Please know that your entire family is always in our thoughts & prayers, all day-every day! Your precious Kate has and continues to inspire the world. There is no doubt in my mind that He has sent Kate to us to deliver a very strong and meaningful message to all. I have faith that He will heal your sweet daughter from her head to her toes!

Leave a Reply

