Doubt: It’s Not Just in Your Head

Sometimes I battle doubt! This war rages not just in my head but also in my heart, in my choices, in my attitudes, in my motivations, in my desires, in my will…

For many of us the litmus test for doubt has rested on ones ability to pass a Sunday School pop quiz, ace it and you are in. Yet, this move of justifying ourselves only masquerades the real issue. We see in James 4:17 that the individual ‘who knows the good he ought to do and doesn’t do it, sins.‘ This persons problem is not in their head but in their actions. The need here is not to correct wrong thinking but to provoke right living.

The obvious truth is, how we live reveals what we believe!
What we believe is revealed…
in our choices,
in how we treat others,
in where we find joy and pleasure,
in what gives meaning and purpose to our lives,
in who we run to for help, hope, and rescue from ourselves…

Maybe we all need to be reminded today of Jesus’ declaration to Thomas in John 20:27 “Stop doubting and believe.” May we receive this gift of faith and remember that Christ is our life (Colossians 3:1-3).

3 thoughts on “Doubt: It’s Not Just in Your Head

  1. Thank you for another lovely lenten meditation. I am ultimately changed by Christ but your words certainly have guided me to the places where I think Christ is waiting for me. God’s peace and blessings are my prayer for you and your family.

  2. Thank you for another wonderful message. You and your family have so much faith and it is truly inspiring to me. My thoughts and prayers are with you all daily.

Leave a Reply

